Failand Observatory

Failand, Near Wraxall, BS8 3US

Location description

Observatory hosts public stargazing events run by Bristol Astronomical Society.


Location event organiser

Bristol Astronomical Society organises stargazing events at this location.


Astronomical society

Meeting place for local astronomical society, often in a location that enables stargazing and observing.


Observatory

Location has an observatory that is accessible to the public by prior arrangement or during public events.


Tonight's weather forecast

17/07/19
19:00
18°
8%
17/07/19
22:00
17°
11%
18/07/19
01:00
17°
47%
18/07/19
04:00
16°
49%
Weather forecast for Nailsea (2.87 miles away) updated 17/07/19 at 06:00.

Location light pollution

This location is estimated to have light pollution levels similar to a suburban setting based on satellite data from CPRE.

Urban
Suburban
Semi-rural
Rural
Dark site
The above demonstrates the estimated effect of light pollution - graphics created using Stellarium.

Forthcoming events at this location

Failand Observatory Public Open Night

Saturday 5th October 2019 from 19:00pm to 21:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Failand Observatory Public Open Night

Saturday 12th October 2019 from 19:00pm to 21:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Failand Observatory Public Open Night

Saturday 19th October 2019 from 19:00pm to 21:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Failand Observatory Public Open Night

Saturday 26th October 2019 from 19:00pm to 21:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Failand Observatory Public Open Night

Saturday 2nd November 2019 from 19:00pm to 21:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Failand Observatory Public Open Night

Saturday 9th November 2019 from 19:00pm to 21:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Failand Observatory Public Open Night

Saturday 16th November 2019 from 19:00pm to 21:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Failand Observatory Public Open Night

Saturday 23rd November 2019 from 19:00pm to 21:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Failand Observatory Public Open Night

Saturday 30th November 2019 from 19:00pm to 21:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Failand Observatory Public Open Night

Saturday 7th December 2019 from 19:00pm to 21:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Failand Observatory Public Open Night

Saturday 14th December 2019 from 19:00pm to 21:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Failand Observatory Public Open Night

Saturday 21st December 2019 from 19:00pm to 21:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Failand Observatory Public Open Night

Saturday 28th December 2019 from 19:00pm to 21:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Failand Observatory Public Open Night

Saturday 4th January 2020 from 19:00pm to 21:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Failand Observatory Public Open Night

Saturday 11th January 2020 from 19:00pm to 21:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Failand Observatory Public Open Night

Saturday 18th January 2020 from 19:00pm to 21:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Failand Observatory Public Open Night

Saturday 25th January 2020 from 19:00pm to 21:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Failand Observatory Public Open Night

Saturday 1st February 2020 from 19:00pm to 21:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Failand Observatory Public Open Night

Saturday 8th February 2020 from 19:00pm to 21:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Failand Observatory Public Open Night

Saturday 15th February 2020 from 19:00pm to 21:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Failand Observatory Public Open Night

Saturday 22nd February 2020 from 19:00pm to 21:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Failand Observatory Public Open Night

Saturday 29th February 2020 from 19:00pm to 21:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Failand Observatory Public Open Night

Saturday 7th March 2020 from 19:00pm to 21:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Failand Observatory Public Open Night

Saturday 14th March 2020 from 19:00pm to 21:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Failand Observatory Public Open Night

Saturday 21st March 2020 from 19:00pm to 21:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Failand Observatory Public Open Night

Saturday 28th March 2020 from 19:00pm to 21:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Failand Observatory Public Open Night

Saturday 4th April 2020 from 19:00pm to 21:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Failand Observatory Public Open Night

Saturday 11th April 2020 from 19:00pm to 21:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Failand Observatory Public Open Night

Saturday 18th April 2020 from 19:00pm to 21:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Failand Observatory Public Open Night

Saturday 25th April 2020 from 19:00pm to 21:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Location

When to visit

The best time to visit Failand Observatory can be found on this dark skies calendar.

Add to favourites

To add this location to your favourites and receive optional stargazing event notifications simply login or register.

Apollo 50th Anniversary

Apollo 50th anniversary events

The year 2019 represents the 50th anniversary of the first Apollo moon landing... Join in the celebrations at one of these special events.

Astronomy Equipment

We recommend First Light Optics for their wide range of astronomy products and excellent customer service...

Register to receive stargazing event notifications