Go starcamping!

Go starcamping!

Enjoy a stargazing break with family, friends and welcoming astronomers!

A “Starcamp” is an organised stargazing event that takes place at a time around a new moon when the skies are nice and dark for stargazing. Such events are often based at a remote campsite or caravan park and away from light pollution.

“Starcamping” offers a means of getting away from the city lights, away from light pollution, away from the hum-drum of day-to-day life and into a world where you can be at one with our Universe, literally!

Although Starcamps take place throughout the year the best events are held from Autumn through to Spring when fewer daylight hours allow for more stargazing time and the cold, crisp nights mean the skies above are settled making it perfect for observing, especially through telescopes.

Most of us will have to travel some distance to find a dark sky location, therefore, not only do Star-camps make an ideal short break, the journey is made all the more worthwhile when you see the Milky Way arching over you and thousands of stars visible to the naked eye. Staying over a couple of nights increases the chances you’ll get a break in the weather.

starcamp-kielder-2016-2
The Milky Way above Kielder Forest Starcamp – photo by Robert Ince

What to expect

You’ll find friendly, experienced amateur astronomers on hand and keen to share their knowledge and passion for their favorite subject. Some of these events cater to families (such as The People’s Star Parties at Kielder) however most are aimed at more serious amateur astronomers wanting to make the most of their time under dark skies.

Members of the public are always welcome however those who do attend these types of events will likely be asked to abide by strict red light rules (no white light during dark) and no noise during the mornings (due to sleepy astronomers!)

It’s not necessary to rough it either! You’ll find campsites with pitches that have electric hook-ups for fan heaters and a warm room where you can make a cuppa. There’s often a pub nearby too! Star-camps are social events and you’ll undoubtedly make new friends, when you call it a night just snuggle up under the extra duvet you packed in addition to your sleeping bags! 😉

Going camping at any time when it’s likely to be chilly is not for the faint-hearted, however, for the more adventurous amongst you, this is perhaps the best way of experiencing stargazing, and such efforts are often incredibly rewarding!


Forthcoming Starcamps


October 2021

  • Cambrian Mountains Stargazing Weekend

    Friday 1st October 2021 from 16:00pm to Sunday 3rd October 2021 12:00pm

    Wigwam Holidays Hafren, Rhiwdefeity, Staylittle, SY19 7BY

    More info
  • AstroCamp – Autumn 2021

    Saturday 2nd October 2021 from 12:00pm to Tuesday 5th October 2021 12:00pm

    Cwmdu Campsite, Cwmdu, Crickhowell, Powys, NP8 1RU

    More info
  • Kelling Heath Star Party – Autumn 2021

    Monday 4th October 2021 from 12:00pm to Monday 11th October 2021 12:00pm

    Kelling Heath Holiday Park, Weybourne, Holt, NR25 7HW

    More info
  • Family Star Glamp at Little Seed Field

    Friday 8th October 2021 from 18:00pm to Sunday 10th October 2021 12:00pm

    Little Seed Field Glamping, Castiles Farm, Ripon, HG4 3PU

    More info
  • Coll & The Cosmos Stargazing Weekend – October 2021

    Saturday 9th October 2021 from 12:00pm to Sunday 10th October 2021 13:00pm

    Isle of Coll – Coll Bunkhouse, Arinagour, Isle of Coll, PA78 6SY

    More info
  • North Pennines Star Camp – Autumn 2021

    Friday 22nd October 2021 from 18:00pm to Sunday 24th October 2021 12:00pm

    Doe Park Caravan Site, Cotherstone, Barnard Castle, DL12 9UQ, North East

    More info
  • The People’s Star Party at Kielder – Autumn 2021

    Friday 29th October 2021 from 16:00pm to Sunday 31st October 2021 12:00pm

    Kielder Campsite, Kielder Village, Kielder, Northumberland, NE48 1ER

    More info

November 2021

  • Breckland Skies Star Party – Autumn 2021

    Monday 1st November 2021 from 17:00pm to Monday 8th November 2021 12:00pm

    Haw Wood Farm Caravan Park, Hinton, Saxmundham, IP17 3QT

    More info
  • Haw Wood Farm Astronomers Week – Autumn 2021

    Monday 1st November 2021 from 17:00pm to Saturday 6th November 2021 12:00pm

    Haw Wood Farm Caravan Park, Hinton, Saxmundham, IP17 3QT

    More info
  • Galloway Gathering – Autumn 2021

    Tuesday 2nd November 2021 from 12:00pm to Sunday 7th November 2021 12:00pm

    Drumroamin Farm Camping & Caravan Site, Kirkinner, Newton Stewart, DG8 9DB

    More info
  • Kielder Forest Star Camp – Autumn 2021

    Wednesday 3rd November 2021 from 12:00pm to Monday 8th November 2021 12:00pm

    Kielder Campsite, Kielder Village, Kielder, Northumberland, NE48 1ER

    More info
  • Cambrian Mountains Stargazing Weekend

    Friday 5th November 2021 from 16:00pm to Sunday 7th November 2021 12:00pm

    Wigwam Holidays Hafren, Rhiwdefeity, Staylittle, SY19 7BY

    More info
  • Family Star Glamp at Little Seed Field

    Friday 26th November 2021 from 18:00pm to Sunday 28th November 2021 12:00pm

    Little Seed Field Glamping, Castiles Farm, Ripon, HG4 3PU

    More info

December 2021

  • Winterfest Astro Star Party 2021

    Thursday 2nd December 2021 from 12:00pm to Monday 6th December 2021 12:00pm

    Kelling Heath Holiday Park, Weybourne, Holt, NR25 7HW

    More info
  • Cambrian Mountains Stargazing Weekend

    Friday 3rd December 2021 from 16:00pm to Sunday 5th December 2021 12:00pm

    Wigwam Holidays Hafren, Rhiwdefeity, Staylittle, SY19 7BY

    More info
  • Bellingham Star Party – Autumn 2021

    Thursday 9th December 2021 from 18:00pm to Sunday 12th December 2021 12:00pm

    Bellingham Camp & Caravan Club Site, Bellingham, Hexham, NE48 2HR

    More info

March 2022

  • Coll & The Cosmos Stargazing Weekend – March 2022

    Saturday 5th March 2022 from 12:00pm to Sunday 6th March 2022 13:00pm

    Isle of Coll – Coll Bunkhouse, Arinagour, Isle of Coll, PA78 6SY

    More info
  • Bellingham Equinox Star Party – Spring 2022

    Friday 25th March 2022 from 19:30pm to Sunday 27th March 2022 12:00pm

    Bellingham Camp & Caravan Club Site, Bellingham, Hexham, NE48 2HR

    More info

August 2022

  • Solarsphere Astronomical & Music Festival 2022

    Friday 19th August 2022 from 12:00pm to Sunday 21st August 2022 12:00pm

    Solarsphere Astronomy Festival @ Penmaenau Farm, Builth Wells, Llanelwedd, LD2 3RD

    More info

September 2022

  • Kelling Heath Star Party – Autumn 2022

    Tuesday 20th September 2022 from 12:00pm to Tuesday 27th September 2022 12:00pm

    Kelling Heath Holiday Park, Weybourne, Holt, NR25 7HW

    More info

October 2022

  • Coll & The Cosmos Stargazing Weekend – October 2022

    Saturday 22nd October 2022 from 12:00pm to Sunday 23rd October 2022 13:00pm

    Isle of Coll – Coll Bunkhouse, Arinagour, Isle of Coll, PA78 6SY

    More info

Latest from the blog

Our most recent astronomical articles...