Cygnus Observatory at Washington Wetland Centre

Washington Wetland Centre, Washington, Sunderland, NE38 8LE

Location description

Located within easy travel distance from Sunderland, Newcastle and Durham the Washington Wetland Centre is home to the Cygnus Observatory and run by the friendly and enthusiastic members of Sunderland Astronomical Society, perhaps one of the most active astronomical societies in the UK. Expect to receive a warm welcome and an enjoyable stargazing session at any of their regular public open evenings of the facility!


Location event organiser

Sunderland Astronomical Society organises stargazing events at this location.


Astronomical society

Meeting place for local astronomical society, often in a location that enables stargazing and observing.


Observatory

Location has an observatory that is accessible to the public by prior arrangement or during public events.


Tonight's weather forecast

17/07/19
19:00
17°
53%
17/07/19
22:00
15°
84%
18/07/19
01:00
15°
35%
18/07/19
04:00
15°
8%
Weather forecast for Washington (1.25 miles away) updated 17/07/19 at 06:00.

Location light pollution

This location is estimated to have light pollution levels similar to a suburban setting based on satellite data from CPRE.

Urban
Suburban
Semi-rural
Rural
Dark site
The above demonstrates the estimated effect of light pollution - graphics created using Stellarium.

Forthcoming events at this location

Public Observing at Cygnus Observatory

Thursday 18th July 2019 from 19:00pm to 21:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Public Observing at Cygnus Observatory

Sunday 21st July 2019 from 19:00pm to 21:00pm
Observing (if clear)

One Small Step - The Legacy of the Apollo Programme

Sunday 21st July 2019 from 19:00pm to 21:00pm

Public Observing at Cygnus Observatory

Thursday 25th July 2019 from 19:00pm to 21:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Public Observing at Cygnus Observatory

Sunday 28th July 2019 from 19:00pm to 21:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Public Observing at Cygnus Observatory

Thursday 1st August 2019 from 19:00pm to 21:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Public Observing at Cygnus Observatory

Sunday 4th August 2019 from 19:00pm to 21:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Public Observing at Cygnus Observatory

Thursday 8th August 2019 from 19:00pm to 21:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Public Observing at Cygnus Observatory

Sunday 11th August 2019 from 19:00pm to 21:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Public Observing at Cygnus Observatory

Thursday 15th August 2019 from 19:00pm to 21:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Public Observing at Cygnus Observatory

Sunday 18th August 2019 from 19:00pm to 21:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Public Observing at Cygnus Observatory

Thursday 22nd August 2019 from 19:00pm to 21:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Public Observing at Cygnus Observatory

Sunday 25th August 2019 from 19:00pm to 21:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Public Observing at Cygnus Observatory

Thursday 29th August 2019 from 19:00pm to 21:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Public Observing at Cygnus Observatory

Sunday 1st September 2019 from 19:00pm to 21:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Public Observing at Cygnus Observatory

Thursday 5th September 2019 from 19:00pm to 21:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Public Observing at Cygnus Observatory

Sunday 8th September 2019 from 19:00pm to 21:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Public Observing at Cygnus Observatory

Thursday 12th September 2019 from 19:00pm to 21:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Public Observing at Cygnus Observatory

Sunday 15th September 2019 from 19:00pm to 21:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Public Observing at Cygnus Observatory

Thursday 19th September 2019 from 19:00pm to 21:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Public Observing at Cygnus Observatory

Sunday 22nd September 2019 from 19:00pm to 21:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Public Observing at Cygnus Observatory

Thursday 26th September 2019 from 19:00pm to 21:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Public Observing at Cygnus Observatory

Sunday 29th September 2019 from 19:00pm to 21:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Public Observing at Cygnus Observatory

Thursday 3rd October 2019 from 19:00pm to 21:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Public Observing at Cygnus Observatory

Sunday 6th October 2019 from 19:00pm to 21:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Public Observing at Cygnus Observatory

Thursday 10th October 2019 from 19:00pm to 21:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Public Observing at Cygnus Observatory

Sunday 13th October 2019 from 19:00pm to 21:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Public Observing at Cygnus Observatory

Thursday 17th October 2019 from 19:00pm to 21:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Public Observing at Cygnus Observatory

Sunday 20th October 2019 from 19:00pm to 21:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Public Observing at Cygnus Observatory

Thursday 24th October 2019 from 19:00pm to 21:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Public Observing at Cygnus Observatory

Sunday 27th October 2019 from 19:00pm to 21:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Public Observing at Cygnus Observatory

Thursday 31st October 2019 from 19:00pm to 21:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Public Observing at Cygnus Observatory

Sunday 3rd November 2019 from 19:00pm to 21:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Public Observing at Cygnus Observatory

Thursday 7th November 2019 from 19:00pm to 21:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Public Observing at Cygnus Observatory

Sunday 10th November 2019 from 19:00pm to 21:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Public Observing at Cygnus Observatory

Thursday 14th November 2019 from 19:00pm to 21:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Public Observing at Cygnus Observatory

Sunday 17th November 2019 from 19:00pm to 21:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Public Observing at Cygnus Observatory

Thursday 21st November 2019 from 19:00pm to 21:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Public Observing at Cygnus Observatory

Sunday 24th November 2019 from 19:00pm to 21:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Public Observing at Cygnus Observatory

Thursday 28th November 2019 from 19:00pm to 21:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Public Observing at Cygnus Observatory

Sunday 1st December 2019 from 19:00pm to 21:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Public Observing at Cygnus Observatory

Thursday 5th December 2019 from 19:00pm to 21:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Public Observing at Cygnus Observatory

Sunday 8th December 2019 from 19:00pm to 21:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Public Observing at Cygnus Observatory

Thursday 12th December 2019 from 19:00pm to 21:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Public Observing at Cygnus Observatory

Sunday 15th December 2019 from 19:00pm to 21:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Public Observing at Cygnus Observatory

Thursday 19th December 2019 from 19:00pm to 21:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Public Observing at Cygnus Observatory

Sunday 22nd December 2019 from 19:00pm to 21:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Public Observing at Cygnus Observatory

Thursday 26th December 2019 from 19:00pm to 21:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Public Observing at Cygnus Observatory

Sunday 29th December 2019 from 19:00pm to 21:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Public Observing at Cygnus Observatory

Thursday 2nd January 2020 from 19:00pm to 21:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Public Observing at Cygnus Observatory

Sunday 5th January 2020 from 19:00pm to 21:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Public Observing at Cygnus Observatory

Thursday 9th January 2020 from 19:00pm to 21:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Public Observing at Cygnus Observatory

Sunday 12th January 2020 from 19:00pm to 21:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Public Observing at Cygnus Observatory

Thursday 16th January 2020 from 19:00pm to 21:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Public Observing at Cygnus Observatory

Sunday 19th January 2020 from 19:00pm to 21:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Public Observing at Cygnus Observatory

Thursday 23rd January 2020 from 19:00pm to 21:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Public Observing at Cygnus Observatory

Sunday 26th January 2020 from 19:00pm to 21:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Public Observing at Cygnus Observatory

Thursday 30th January 2020 from 19:00pm to 21:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Public Observing at Cygnus Observatory

Sunday 2nd February 2020 from 19:00pm to 21:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Public Observing at Cygnus Observatory

Thursday 6th February 2020 from 19:00pm to 21:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Public Observing at Cygnus Observatory

Sunday 9th February 2020 from 19:00pm to 21:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Public Observing at Cygnus Observatory

Thursday 13th February 2020 from 19:00pm to 21:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Public Observing at Cygnus Observatory

Sunday 16th February 2020 from 19:00pm to 21:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Public Observing at Cygnus Observatory

Thursday 20th February 2020 from 19:00pm to 21:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Public Observing at Cygnus Observatory

Sunday 23rd February 2020 from 19:00pm to 21:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Public Observing at Cygnus Observatory

Thursday 27th February 2020 from 19:00pm to 21:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Public Observing at Cygnus Observatory

Sunday 1st March 2020 from 19:00pm to 21:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Public Observing at Cygnus Observatory

Thursday 5th March 2020 from 19:00pm to 21:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Public Observing at Cygnus Observatory

Sunday 8th March 2020 from 19:00pm to 21:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Public Observing at Cygnus Observatory

Thursday 12th March 2020 from 19:00pm to 21:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Public Observing at Cygnus Observatory

Sunday 15th March 2020 from 19:00pm to 21:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Public Observing at Cygnus Observatory

Thursday 19th March 2020 from 19:00pm to 21:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Public Observing at Cygnus Observatory

Sunday 22nd March 2020 from 19:00pm to 21:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Public Observing at Cygnus Observatory

Thursday 26th March 2020 from 19:00pm to 21:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Public Observing at Cygnus Observatory

Sunday 29th March 2020 from 19:00pm to 21:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Public Observing at Cygnus Observatory

Thursday 2nd April 2020 from 19:00pm to 21:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Public Observing at Cygnus Observatory

Sunday 5th April 2020 from 19:00pm to 21:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Public Observing at Cygnus Observatory

Thursday 9th April 2020 from 19:00pm to 21:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Public Observing at Cygnus Observatory

Sunday 12th April 2020 from 19:00pm to 21:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Public Observing at Cygnus Observatory

Thursday 16th April 2020 from 19:00pm to 21:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Public Observing at Cygnus Observatory

Sunday 19th April 2020 from 19:00pm to 21:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Public Observing at Cygnus Observatory

Thursday 23rd April 2020 from 19:00pm to 21:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Public Observing at Cygnus Observatory

Sunday 26th April 2020 from 19:00pm to 21:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Public Observing at Cygnus Observatory

Thursday 30th April 2020 from 19:00pm to 21:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Public Observing at Cygnus Observatory

Sunday 3rd May 2020 from 19:00pm to 21:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Public Observing at Cygnus Observatory

Thursday 7th May 2020 from 19:00pm to 21:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Public Observing at Cygnus Observatory

Sunday 10th May 2020 from 19:00pm to 21:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Public Observing at Cygnus Observatory

Thursday 14th May 2020 from 19:00pm to 21:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Public Observing at Cygnus Observatory

Sunday 17th May 2020 from 19:00pm to 21:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Public Observing at Cygnus Observatory

Thursday 21st May 2020 from 19:00pm to 21:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Public Observing at Cygnus Observatory

Sunday 24th May 2020 from 19:00pm to 21:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Public Observing at Cygnus Observatory

Thursday 28th May 2020 from 19:00pm to 21:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Public Observing at Cygnus Observatory

Sunday 31st May 2020 from 19:00pm to 21:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Location

When to visit

The best time to visit Cygnus Observatory at Washington Wetland Centre can be found on this dark skies calendar.

Add to favourites

To add this location to your favourites and receive optional stargazing event notifications simply login or register.

Apollo 50th Anniversary

Apollo 50th anniversary events

The year 2019 represents the 50th anniversary of the first Apollo moon landing... Join in the celebrations at one of these special events.

Astronomy Equipment

We recommend First Light Optics for their wide range of astronomy products and excellent customer service...

Register to receive stargazing event notifications