Kielder Observatory

Black Fell, Near Kielder Village, Northumberland, NE48

Location description

Kielder hosts one of the best public observatories in the UK. Its remote location at the heart of the Northumberland International Dark Sky Park allows the observatory to benefit from dark skies free from light pollution. The journey to the observatory takes in wonderful views around Kielder Reservoir and Kielder Forest. Experienced astronomers and friendly staff always offer an enjoyable event no matter the weather.

The observatory runs events 7 nights a week and for most nights particularly weekends booking is required several weeks in advance of visiting. Tickets for weekend events around each new moon (the best time to visit) always sell out and therefore priced at a premium.

For the best stargazing experience plan your visit during the observing season (September to March) when the evening skies are dark. Avoid periods around full moon when the skies suffer the moon's natural light pollution. Use our dark sky calendar to see when is the best time to visit Kielder Observatory and book early!

Photograph used with kind permission from Astro Matt Photography.


Location event organiser

Kielder Observatory organises stargazing events at this location.


Dark sky discovery site

Designated as a Dark Sky Discovery Site this location is accessible by members of the public and are officially recognised as excellent places to stargaze. Such locations often have free overnight car parking, some have toilet facilities however rarely allow overnight camping.


Observatory

Location has an observatory that is accessible to the public by prior arrangement or during public events.


Tonight's weather forecast

15/10/19
19:00
10°
9%
15/10/19
22:00
4%
16/10/19
01:00
10%
16/10/19
04:00
10%
Weather forecast for Kielder (1.35 miles away) updated 15/10/19 at 20:00.

Location light pollution

This location is estimated to have light pollution levels similar to a dark site setting based on satellite data from CPRE.

Urban
Suburban
Semi-rural
Rural
Dark site
The above demonstrates the estimated effect of light pollution - graphics created using Stellarium.

When to stargaze at Kielder Observatory

This location's dark site setting means it benefits from dark skies depending on the time of the year and lunar cycle. In the calendar below where you can see stars indicates when the skies will be dark and the best time to stargaze. Yellow areas show the adverse effects of daylight (bold) and moonlight (faded). Hover over a day to see darkness times or click on a date for more information.

Forthcoming events at this location

Kielder Observatory Midweek Open Evening

Tuesday 15th October 2019 from 20:00pm to 23:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Kielder Observatory Midweek Open Evening

Wednesday 16th October 2019 from 20:00pm to 23:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Kielder Observatory Midweek Open Evening

Monday 21st October 2019 from 20:00pm to 23:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Kielder Observatory Midweek Open Evening

Tuesday 22nd October 2019 from 20:00pm to 23:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Kielder Observatory Midweek Open Evening

Wednesday 23rd October 2019 from 20:00pm to 23:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Kielder Observatory Midweek Open Evening

Monday 28th October 2019 from 20:00pm to 23:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Kielder Observatory Midweek Open Evening

Tuesday 29th October 2019 from 20:00pm to 23:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Kielder Observatory Midweek Open Evening

Wednesday 30th October 2019 from 20:00pm to 23:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Kielder Observatory Midweek Open Evening

Monday 4th November 2019 from 20:00pm to 23:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Kielder Observatory Midweek Open Evening

Tuesday 5th November 2019 from 20:00pm to 23:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Kielder Observatory Midweek Open Evening

Wednesday 6th November 2019 from 20:00pm to 23:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Kielder Observatory Midweek Open Evening

Monday 11th November 2019 from 20:00pm to 23:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Kielder Observatory Midweek Open Evening

Tuesday 12th November 2019 from 20:00pm to 23:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Kielder Observatory Midweek Open Evening

Wednesday 13th November 2019 from 20:00pm to 23:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Kielder Observatory Midweek Open Evening

Monday 18th November 2019 from 20:00pm to 23:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Kielder Observatory Midweek Open Evening

Tuesday 19th November 2019 from 20:00pm to 23:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Kielder Observatory Midweek Open Evening

Wednesday 20th November 2019 from 20:00pm to 23:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Kielder Observatory Midweek Open Evening

Monday 25th November 2019 from 20:00pm to 23:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Kielder Observatory Midweek Open Evening

Tuesday 26th November 2019 from 20:00pm to 23:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Kielder Observatory Midweek Open Evening

Wednesday 27th November 2019 from 20:00pm to 23:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Kielder Observatory Midweek Open Evening

Monday 2nd December 2019 from 20:00pm to 23:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Kielder Observatory Midweek Open Evening

Tuesday 3rd December 2019 from 20:00pm to 23:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Kielder Observatory Midweek Open Evening

Wednesday 4th December 2019 from 20:00pm to 23:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Kielder Observatory Midweek Open Evening

Monday 9th December 2019 from 20:00pm to 23:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Kielder Observatory Midweek Open Evening

Tuesday 10th December 2019 from 20:00pm to 23:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Kielder Observatory Midweek Open Evening

Wednesday 11th December 2019 from 20:00pm to 23:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Kielder Observatory Midweek Open Evening

Monday 16th December 2019 from 20:00pm to 23:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Kielder Observatory Midweek Open Evening

Tuesday 17th December 2019 from 20:00pm to 23:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Kielder Observatory Midweek Open Evening

Wednesday 18th December 2019 from 20:00pm to 23:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Kielder Observatory Midweek Open Evening

Monday 23rd December 2019 from 20:00pm to 23:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Kielder Observatory Midweek Open Evening

Monday 30th December 2019 from 20:00pm to 23:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Kielder Observatory Midweek Open Evening

Tuesday 31st December 2019 from 20:00pm to 23:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Kielder Observatory Midweek Open Evening

Wednesday 1st January 2020 from 20:00pm to 23:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Kielder Observatory Midweek Open Evening

Monday 6th January 2020 from 20:00pm to 23:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Kielder Observatory Midweek Open Evening

Tuesday 7th January 2020 from 20:00pm to 23:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Kielder Observatory Midweek Open Evening

Wednesday 8th January 2020 from 20:00pm to 23:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Kielder Observatory Midweek Open Evening

Monday 13th January 2020 from 20:00pm to 23:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Kielder Observatory Midweek Open Evening

Tuesday 14th January 2020 from 20:00pm to 23:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Kielder Observatory Midweek Open Evening

Wednesday 15th January 2020 from 20:00pm to 23:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Kielder Observatory Midweek Open Evening

Monday 20th January 2020 from 20:00pm to 23:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Kielder Observatory Midweek Open Evening

Tuesday 21st January 2020 from 20:00pm to 23:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Kielder Observatory Midweek Open Evening

Wednesday 22nd January 2020 from 20:00pm to 23:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Kielder Observatory Midweek Open Evening

Monday 27th January 2020 from 20:00pm to 23:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Kielder Observatory Midweek Open Evening

Tuesday 28th January 2020 from 20:00pm to 23:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Kielder Observatory Midweek Open Evening

Wednesday 29th January 2020 from 20:00pm to 23:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Kielder Observatory Midweek Open Evening

Monday 3rd February 2020 from 20:00pm to 23:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Kielder Observatory Midweek Open Evening

Tuesday 4th February 2020 from 20:00pm to 23:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Kielder Observatory Midweek Open Evening

Wednesday 5th February 2020 from 20:00pm to 23:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Walking and Stargazing In Northumberland

Friday 7th February 2020 from 12:00pm to Sunday 9th February 2020 12:00pm

Kielder Observatory Midweek Open Evening

Monday 10th February 2020 from 20:00pm to 23:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Kielder Observatory Midweek Open Evening

Tuesday 11th February 2020 from 20:00pm to 23:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Kielder Observatory Midweek Open Evening

Wednesday 12th February 2020 from 20:00pm to 23:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Kielder Observatory Midweek Open Evening

Monday 17th February 2020 from 20:00pm to 23:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Kielder Observatory Midweek Open Evening

Tuesday 18th February 2020 from 20:00pm to 23:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Kielder Observatory Midweek Open Evening

Wednesday 19th February 2020 from 20:00pm to 23:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Kielder Observatory Midweek Open Evening

Monday 24th February 2020 from 20:00pm to 23:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Kielder Observatory Midweek Open Evening

Tuesday 25th February 2020 from 20:00pm to 23:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Kielder Observatory Midweek Open Evening

Wednesday 26th February 2020 from 20:00pm to 23:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Kielder Observatory Midweek Open Evening

Monday 2nd March 2020 from 20:00pm to 23:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Kielder Observatory Midweek Open Evening

Tuesday 3rd March 2020 from 20:00pm to 23:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Kielder Observatory Midweek Open Evening

Wednesday 4th March 2020 from 20:00pm to 23:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Kielder Observatory Midweek Open Evening

Monday 9th March 2020 from 20:00pm to 23:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Kielder Observatory Midweek Open Evening

Tuesday 10th March 2020 from 20:00pm to 23:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Kielder Observatory Midweek Open Evening

Wednesday 11th March 2020 from 20:00pm to 23:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Kielder Observatory Midweek Open Evening

Monday 16th March 2020 from 20:00pm to 23:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Kielder Observatory Midweek Open Evening

Tuesday 17th March 2020 from 20:00pm to 23:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Kielder Observatory Midweek Open Evening

Wednesday 18th March 2020 from 20:00pm to 23:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Kielder Observatory Midweek Open Evening

Monday 23rd March 2020 from 20:00pm to 23:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Kielder Observatory Midweek Open Evening

Tuesday 24th March 2020 from 20:00pm to 23:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Kielder Observatory Midweek Open Evening

Wednesday 25th March 2020 from 20:00pm to 23:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Kielder Observatory Midweek Open Evening

Monday 30th March 2020 from 20:00pm to 23:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Kielder Observatory Midweek Open Evening

Tuesday 31st March 2020 from 20:00pm to 23:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Walking and Stargazing In Northumberland

Friday 13th November 2020 from 12:00pm to Sunday 15th November 2020 12:00pm

Location

When to visit

The best time to visit Kielder Observatory can be found on this dark skies calendar.

Add to favourites

To add this location to your favourites and receive optional stargazing event notifications simply login or register.

Stargazing Vouchers

stargazing vouchers
A stargazing experience voucher makes for a fantastic gift! We've got some great suggestions!

Telescopes for beginners

Thinking of purchasing a telescope!? See our guide as to which telescopes we recommend for beginners.

Register to receive stargazing event notifications