St Andrews Observatory

University of St Andrews, St Andrews, KY16

Location description

The St Andrews Observatory, home to the James Gregory Telescope, is open to the general public every first Wednesday of the month from 7-9pm.


Location event organiser

St Andrews University organises stargazing events at this location.


Observatory

Location has an observatory that is accessible to the public by prior arrangement or during public events.


Tonight's weather forecast

20/11
18:00
4%
20/11
21:00
4%
21/11
00:00
0%
21/11
03:00
8%
21/11
06:00
8%
Weather forecast for St Andrews (0.84 miles away) updated 20/11/19 at 20:01.

Location light pollution

This location is estimated to have light pollution levels similar to a suburban setting based on satellite data from CPRE.

Urban
Suburban
Semi-rural
Rural
Dark site
The above demonstrates the estimated effect of light pollution - graphics created using Stellarium.

Forthcoming events at this location

St Andrews Astronomical Society Observatory Open Evening

Thursday 21st November 2019 from 20:00pm to 21:30pm
Observing (if clear)

St Andrews Astronomical Society Observatory Open Evening

Thursday 28th November 2019 from 20:00pm to 21:30pm
Observing (if clear)

St Andrews Observatory Open Night

Wednesday 4th December 2019 from 19:00pm to 21:00pm
Observing (if clear)

St Andrews Astronomical Society Observatory Open Evening

Thursday 5th December 2019 from 20:00pm to 21:30pm
Observing (if clear)

St Andrews Astronomical Society Observatory Open Evening

Thursday 12th December 2019 from 20:00pm to 21:30pm
Observing (if clear)

St Andrews Astronomical Society Observatory Open Evening

Thursday 19th December 2019 from 20:00pm to 21:30pm
Observing (if clear)

St Andrews Astronomical Society Observatory Open Evening

Thursday 26th December 2019 from 20:00pm to 21:30pm
Observing (if clear)

St Andrews Observatory Open Night

Wednesday 1st January 2020 from 19:00pm to 21:00pm
Observing (if clear)

St Andrews Astronomical Society Observatory Open Evening

Thursday 2nd January 2020 from 20:00pm to 21:30pm
Observing (if clear)

St Andrews Astronomical Society Observatory Open Evening

Thursday 9th January 2020 from 20:00pm to 21:30pm
Observing (if clear)

St Andrews Astronomical Society Observatory Open Evening

Thursday 16th January 2020 from 20:00pm to 21:30pm
Observing (if clear)

St Andrews Astronomical Society Observatory Open Evening

Thursday 23rd January 2020 from 20:00pm to 21:30pm
Observing (if clear)

St Andrews Astronomical Society Observatory Open Evening

Thursday 30th January 2020 from 20:00pm to 21:30pm
Observing (if clear)

St Andrews Observatory Open Night

Wednesday 5th February 2020 from 19:00pm to 21:00pm
Observing (if clear)

St Andrews Astronomical Society Observatory Open Evening

Thursday 6th February 2020 from 20:00pm to 21:30pm
Observing (if clear)

St Andrews Astronomical Society Observatory Open Evening

Thursday 13th February 2020 from 20:00pm to 21:30pm
Observing (if clear)

St Andrews Astronomical Society Observatory Open Evening

Thursday 20th February 2020 from 20:00pm to 21:30pm
Observing (if clear)

St Andrews Astronomical Society Observatory Open Evening

Thursday 27th February 2020 from 20:00pm to 21:30pm
Observing (if clear)

St Andrews Observatory Open Night

Wednesday 4th March 2020 from 19:00pm to 21:00pm
Observing (if clear)

St Andrews Astronomical Society Observatory Open Evening

Thursday 5th March 2020 from 20:00pm to 21:30pm
Observing (if clear)

St Andrews Astronomical Society Observatory Open Evening

Thursday 12th March 2020 from 20:00pm to 21:30pm
Observing (if clear)

St Andrews Astronomical Society Observatory Open Evening

Thursday 19th March 2020 from 20:00pm to 21:30pm
Observing (if clear)

St Andrews Astronomical Society Observatory Open Evening

Thursday 26th March 2020 from 20:00pm to 21:30pm
Observing (if clear)

St Andrews Observatory Open Night

Wednesday 1st April 2020 from 19:00pm to 21:00pm
Observing (if clear)

St Andrews Observatory Open Night

Wednesday 6th May 2020 from 19:00pm to 21:00pm
Observing (if clear)

St Andrews Observatory Open Night

Wednesday 3rd June 2020 from 19:00pm to 21:00pm
Observing (if clear)

St Andrews Observatory Open Night

Wednesday 1st July 2020 from 19:00pm to 21:00pm
Observing (if clear)

St Andrews Observatory Open Night

Wednesday 5th August 2020 from 19:00pm to 21:00pm
Observing (if clear)

St Andrews Observatory Open Night

Wednesday 2nd September 2020 from 19:00pm to 21:00pm
Observing (if clear)

St Andrews Observatory Open Night

Wednesday 7th October 2020 from 19:00pm to 21:00pm
Observing (if clear)

St Andrews Observatory Open Night

Wednesday 4th November 2020 from 19:00pm to 21:00pm
Observing (if clear)

St Andrews Observatory Open Night

Wednesday 2nd December 2020 from 19:00pm to 21:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Location

When to visit

The best time to visit St Andrews Observatory can be found on this dark skies calendar.

Add to favourites

To add this location to your favourites and receive optional stargazing event notifications simply login or register.

Stargazing Vouchers

stargazing vouchers
A stargazing experience voucher makes for a fantastic gift! We've got some great suggestions!

Telescopes for beginners

Thinking of purchasing a telescope!? See our guide as to which telescopes we recommend for beginners.

Register to receive stargazing event notifications