St Andrews Observatory

University of St Andrews, St Andrews, KY16

Location description

The St Andrews Observatory, home to the James Gregory Telescope, is open to the general public every first Wednesday of the month from 7-9pm.


Observatory

Location has an observatory that is accessible to the public by prior arrangement or during public events.


Tonight's weather forecast

25/09/18
19:00
13°
4%
25/09/18
22:00
13°
5%
26/09/18
01:00
14°
6%
26/09/18
04:00
14°
55%
Weather forecast for St Andrews (0.84 miles away) updated 25/09/18 at 20:00.

Location light pollution

This location is estimated to have light pollution levels similar to a suburban setting based on satellite data from CPRE.

Urban
Suburban
Semi-rural
Rural
Dark site
The above demonstrates the estimated effect of light pollution - graphics created using Stellarium.

Forthcoming events at this location

St Andrews Observatory Open Evening

Wednesday 3rd October 2018 from 19:00pm to 21:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Stargazing with University of St Andrews Astronomical Society

Thursday 4th October 2018 from 21:00pm to 22:30pm
Observing (if clear)

Stargazing with University of St Andrews Astronomical Society

Thursday 11th October 2018 from 21:00pm to 22:30pm
Observing (if clear)

Stargazing with University of St Andrews Astronomical Society

Thursday 18th October 2018 from 21:00pm to 22:30pm
Observing (if clear)

Stargazing with University of St Andrews Astronomical Society

Thursday 25th October 2018 from 21:00pm to 22:30pm
Observing (if clear)

Stargazing with University of St Andrews Astronomical Society

Thursday 1st November 2018 from 21:00pm to 22:30pm
Observing (if clear)

St Andrews Observatory Open Evening

Wednesday 7th November 2018 from 19:00pm to 21:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Stargazing with University of St Andrews Astronomical Society

Thursday 8th November 2018 from 21:00pm to 22:30pm
Observing (if clear)

Stargazing with University of St Andrews Astronomical Society

Thursday 15th November 2018 from 21:00pm to 22:30pm
Observing (if clear)

Stargazing with University of St Andrews Astronomical Society

Thursday 22nd November 2018 from 21:00pm to 22:30pm
Observing (if clear)

Stargazing with University of St Andrews Astronomical Society

Thursday 29th November 2018 from 21:00pm to 22:30pm
Observing (if clear)

St Andrews Observatory Open Evening

Wednesday 5th December 2018 from 19:00pm to 21:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Stargazing with University of St Andrews Astronomical Society

Thursday 6th December 2018 from 21:00pm to 22:30pm
Observing (if clear)

Stargazing with University of St Andrews Astronomical Society

Thursday 13th December 2018 from 21:00pm to 22:30pm
Observing (if clear)

Stargazing with University of St Andrews Astronomical Society

Thursday 20th December 2018 from 21:00pm to 22:30pm
Observing (if clear)

Stargazing with University of St Andrews Astronomical Society

Thursday 27th December 2018 from 21:00pm to 22:30pm
Observing (if clear)

St Andrews Observatory Open Evening

Wednesday 2nd January 2019 from 19:00pm to 21:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Stargazing with University of St Andrews Astronomical Society

Thursday 3rd January 2019 from 21:00pm to 22:30pm
Observing (if clear)

Stargazing with University of St Andrews Astronomical Society

Thursday 10th January 2019 from 21:00pm to 22:30pm
Observing (if clear)

Stargazing with University of St Andrews Astronomical Society

Thursday 17th January 2019 from 21:00pm to 22:30pm
Observing (if clear)

Stargazing with University of St Andrews Astronomical Society

Thursday 24th January 2019 from 21:00pm to 22:30pm
Observing (if clear)

Stargazing with University of St Andrews Astronomical Society

Thursday 31st January 2019 from 21:00pm to 22:30pm
Observing (if clear)

St Andrews Observatory Open Evening

Wednesday 6th February 2019 from 19:00pm to 21:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Stargazing with University of St Andrews Astronomical Society

Thursday 7th February 2019 from 21:00pm to 22:30pm
Observing (if clear)

Stargazing with University of St Andrews Astronomical Society

Thursday 14th February 2019 from 21:00pm to 22:30pm
Observing (if clear)

Stargazing with University of St Andrews Astronomical Society

Thursday 21st February 2019 from 21:00pm to 22:30pm
Observing (if clear)

Stargazing with University of St Andrews Astronomical Society

Thursday 28th February 2019 from 21:00pm to 22:30pm
Observing (if clear)

St Andrews Observatory Open Evening

Wednesday 6th March 2019 from 19:00pm to 21:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Stargazing with University of St Andrews Astronomical Society

Thursday 7th March 2019 from 21:00pm to 22:30pm
Observing (if clear)

Stargazing with University of St Andrews Astronomical Society

Thursday 14th March 2019 from 21:00pm to 22:30pm
Observing (if clear)

Stargazing with University of St Andrews Astronomical Society

Thursday 21st March 2019 from 21:00pm to 22:30pm
Observing (if clear)

Stargazing with University of St Andrews Astronomical Society

Thursday 28th March 2019 from 21:00pm to 22:30pm
Observing (if clear)

St Andrews Observatory Open Evening

Wednesday 3rd April 2019 from 19:00pm to 21:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Location

Loading Map....

When to visit

The best time to visit St Andrews Observatory can be found on this dark skies calendar.

Add to favourites

To add this location to your favourites and receive optional stargazing event notifications simply login or register.

Register to receive stargazing event notifications