Scottish Dark Sky Observatory

Craigengillan Lodge, Dalmellington, East Ayrshire, KA6 7PZ

Location description

The SDSO occupies a fantastic hilltop site on the edge of the Galloway Forest Dark Sky Park. Equipped with two large telescopes and running a full program of stargazing events throughout the whole year this location is one of the premier stargazing locations in the UK.


Location event organiser

Scottish Dark Sky Observatory organises stargazing events at this location.


Dark sky discovery site

Designated as a Dark Sky Discovery Site this location is accessible by members of the public and are officially recognised as excellent places to stargaze. Such locations often have free overnight car parking, some have toilet facilities however rarely allow overnight camping.


Observatory

Location has an observatory that is accessible to the public by prior arrangement or during public events.


Tonight's weather forecast

21/11/18
18:00
1%
21/11/18
21:00
0%
22/11/18
00:00
1%
22/11/18
03:00
1%
Weather forecast for Dalmellington (2.28 miles away) updated 19/11/18 at 20:01.

Location light pollution

This location is estimated to have light pollution levels similar to a dark site setting based on satellite data from CPRE.

Urban
Suburban
Semi-rural
Rural
Dark site
The above demonstrates the estimated effect of light pollution - graphics created using Stellarium.

When to stargaze at Scottish Dark Sky Observatory

This location's dark site setting means it benefits from dark skies depending on the time of the year and lunar cycle. In the calendar below where you can see stars indicates when the skies will be dark and the best time to stargaze. Yellow areas show the adverse effects of daylight (bold) and moonlight (faded). Hover over a day to see darkness times or click on a date for more information.

Forthcoming events at this location

Stargazing at the Scottish Dark Sky Observatory

Thursday 22nd November 2018 from 20:00pm to 23:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Stargazing at the Scottish Dark Sky Observatory

Friday 23rd November 2018 from 20:00pm to 23:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Stargazing at the Scottish Dark Sky Observatory

Saturday 24th November 2018 from 20:00pm to 23:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Stargazing at the Scottish Dark Sky Observatory

Thursday 29th November 2018 from 20:00pm to 23:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Stargazing at the Scottish Dark Sky Observatory

Friday 30th November 2018 from 20:00pm to 23:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Stargazing at the Scottish Dark Sky Observatory

Saturday 1st December 2018 from 20:00pm to 23:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Stargazing at the Scottish Dark Sky Observatory

Thursday 6th December 2018 from 20:00pm to 23:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Stargazing at the Scottish Dark Sky Observatory

Friday 7th December 2018 from 20:00pm to 23:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Stargazing at the Scottish Dark Sky Observatory

Saturday 8th December 2018 from 20:00pm to 23:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Stargazing at the Scottish Dark Sky Observatory

Thursday 13th December 2018 from 20:00pm to 23:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Stargazing at the Scottish Dark Sky Observatory

Friday 14th December 2018 from 20:00pm to 23:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Stargazing at the Scottish Dark Sky Observatory

Saturday 15th December 2018 from 20:00pm to 23:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Stargazing at the Scottish Dark Sky Observatory

Thursday 20th December 2018 from 20:00pm to 23:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Stargazing at the Scottish Dark Sky Observatory

Friday 21st December 2018 from 20:00pm to 23:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Stargazing at the Scottish Dark Sky Observatory

Saturday 22nd December 2018 from 20:00pm to 23:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Stargazing at the Scottish Dark Sky Observatory

Thursday 27th December 2018 from 20:00pm to 23:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Stargazing at the Scottish Dark Sky Observatory

Friday 28th December 2018 from 20:00pm to 23:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Stargazing at the Scottish Dark Sky Observatory

Saturday 29th December 2018 from 20:00pm to 23:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Stargazing at the Scottish Dark Sky Observatory

Thursday 3rd January 2019 from 20:00pm to 23:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Stargazing at the Scottish Dark Sky Observatory

Friday 4th January 2019 from 20:00pm to 23:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Stargazing at the Scottish Dark Sky Observatory

Saturday 5th January 2019 from 20:00pm to 23:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Stargazing at the Scottish Dark Sky Observatory

Thursday 10th January 2019 from 20:00pm to 23:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Stargazing at the Scottish Dark Sky Observatory

Friday 11th January 2019 from 20:00pm to 23:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Stargazing at the Scottish Dark Sky Observatory

Saturday 12th January 2019 from 20:00pm to 23:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Stargazing at the Scottish Dark Sky Observatory

Thursday 17th January 2019 from 20:00pm to 23:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Stargazing at the Scottish Dark Sky Observatory

Friday 18th January 2019 from 20:00pm to 23:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Stargazing at the Scottish Dark Sky Observatory

Saturday 19th January 2019 from 20:00pm to 23:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Stargazing at the Scottish Dark Sky Observatory

Thursday 24th January 2019 from 20:00pm to 23:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Stargazing at the Scottish Dark Sky Observatory

Friday 25th January 2019 from 20:00pm to 23:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Stargazing at the Scottish Dark Sky Observatory

Saturday 26th January 2019 from 20:00pm to 23:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Stargazing at the Scottish Dark Sky Observatory

Thursday 31st January 2019 from 20:00pm to 23:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Stargazing at the Scottish Dark Sky Observatory

Friday 1st February 2019 from 20:00pm to 23:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Stargazing at the Scottish Dark Sky Observatory

Saturday 2nd February 2019 from 20:00pm to 23:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Stargazing at the Scottish Dark Sky Observatory

Thursday 7th February 2019 from 20:00pm to 23:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Stargazing at the Scottish Dark Sky Observatory

Friday 8th February 2019 from 20:00pm to 23:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Stargazing at the Scottish Dark Sky Observatory

Saturday 9th February 2019 from 20:00pm to 23:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Stargazing at the Scottish Dark Sky Observatory

Thursday 14th February 2019 from 20:00pm to 23:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Stargazing at the Scottish Dark Sky Observatory

Friday 15th February 2019 from 20:00pm to 23:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Stargazing at the Scottish Dark Sky Observatory

Saturday 16th February 2019 from 20:00pm to 23:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Stargazing at the Scottish Dark Sky Observatory

Thursday 21st February 2019 from 20:00pm to 23:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Stargazing at the Scottish Dark Sky Observatory

Friday 22nd February 2019 from 20:00pm to 23:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Stargazing at the Scottish Dark Sky Observatory

Saturday 23rd February 2019 from 20:00pm to 23:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Stargazing at the Scottish Dark Sky Observatory

Thursday 28th February 2019 from 20:00pm to 23:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Stargazing at the Scottish Dark Sky Observatory

Friday 1st March 2019 from 20:00pm to 23:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Stargazing at the Scottish Dark Sky Observatory

Saturday 2nd March 2019 from 20:00pm to 23:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Stargazing at the Scottish Dark Sky Observatory

Thursday 7th March 2019 from 20:00pm to 23:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Stargazing at the Scottish Dark Sky Observatory

Friday 8th March 2019 from 20:00pm to 23:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Stargazing at the Scottish Dark Sky Observatory

Saturday 9th March 2019 from 20:00pm to 23:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Stargazing at the Scottish Dark Sky Observatory

Thursday 14th March 2019 from 20:00pm to 23:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Stargazing at the Scottish Dark Sky Observatory

Friday 15th March 2019 from 20:00pm to 23:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Stargazing at the Scottish Dark Sky Observatory

Saturday 16th March 2019 from 20:00pm to 23:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Stargazing at the Scottish Dark Sky Observatory

Thursday 21st March 2019 from 20:00pm to 23:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Stargazing at the Scottish Dark Sky Observatory

Friday 22nd March 2019 from 20:00pm to 23:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Stargazing at the Scottish Dark Sky Observatory

Saturday 23rd March 2019 from 20:00pm to 23:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Stargazing at the Scottish Dark Sky Observatory

Thursday 28th March 2019 from 20:00pm to 23:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Stargazing at the Scottish Dark Sky Observatory

Friday 29th March 2019 from 20:00pm to 23:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Stargazing at the Scottish Dark Sky Observatory

Saturday 30th March 2019 from 20:00pm to 23:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Stargazing at the Scottish Dark Sky Observatory

Thursday 4th April 2019 from 20:00pm to Friday 5th April 2019 00:00am
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Stargazing at the Scottish Dark Sky Observatory

Friday 5th April 2019 from 20:00pm to Saturday 6th April 2019 00:00am
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Stargazing at the Scottish Dark Sky Observatory

Saturday 6th April 2019 from 20:00pm to Sunday 7th April 2019 00:00am
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Stargazing at the Scottish Dark Sky Observatory

Thursday 11th April 2019 from 20:00pm to Friday 12th April 2019 00:00am
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Stargazing at the Scottish Dark Sky Observatory

Friday 12th April 2019 from 20:00pm to Saturday 13th April 2019 00:00am
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Stargazing at the Scottish Dark Sky Observatory

Saturday 13th April 2019 from 20:00pm to Sunday 14th April 2019 00:00am
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Stargazing at the Scottish Dark Sky Observatory

Thursday 18th April 2019 from 20:00pm to Friday 19th April 2019 00:00am
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Stargazing at the Scottish Dark Sky Observatory

Friday 19th April 2019 from 20:00pm to Saturday 20th April 2019 00:00am
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Stargazing at the Scottish Dark Sky Observatory

Saturday 20th April 2019 from 20:00pm to Sunday 21st April 2019 00:00am
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Stargazing at the Scottish Dark Sky Observatory

Thursday 25th April 2019 from 20:00pm to Friday 26th April 2019 00:00am
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Stargazing at the Scottish Dark Sky Observatory

Friday 26th April 2019 from 20:00pm to Saturday 27th April 2019 00:00am
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Stargazing at the Scottish Dark Sky Observatory

Saturday 27th April 2019 from 20:00pm to Sunday 28th April 2019 00:00am
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Location

Loading Map....

When to visit

The best time to visit Scottish Dark Sky Observatory can be found on this dark skies calendar.

Add to favourites

To add this location to your favourites and receive optional stargazing event notifications simply login or register.

Ideas for Christmas

Ideal presents for enthusiastic astronomers including advice on telescopes for beginners, astronomy books and stargazing experience vouchers.

Astronomy Supplies

Go Stargazing recommends First Light Optics for their wide range of telescopes and accessories, great value and excellent customer service...

Register to receive stargazing event notifications