Mills Observatory

Glamis Road, Balgay Park, Dundee, DD2 2UB

Location description

The historic Mills observatory is the first purpose-built observatory in Britain with it's sole aim to educate and encourage the public's understanding of science.  The impressive sandstone building stands proud atop Balgay Hill on the outskirts of Dundee City centre.  The observatory runs a full event schedule throughout the year of which most events are free of charge.  Join the experienced and friendly astronomers as they give you a guided tour of fascinating objects which can be seen through their large automated telescopes.  A great experience for everyone!


Location event organiser

Mills Observatory organises stargazing events at this location.


Observatory

Location has an observatory that is accessible to the public by prior arrangement or during public events.


Planetarium

This location has a planetarium offering astronomy presentations projected onto a large curved screen or dome.


Tonight's weather forecast

20/11
18:00
4%
20/11
21:00
4%
21/11
00:00
5%
21/11
03:00
9%
21/11
06:00
33%
Weather forecast for Ancrum Outdoor Education Centre (0.10 miles away) updated 20/11/19 at 20:01.

Location light pollution

This location is estimated to have light pollution levels similar to a urban setting based on satellite data from CPRE.

Urban
Suburban
Semi-rural
Rural
Dark site
The above demonstrates the estimated effect of light pollution - graphics created using Stellarium.

Forthcoming events at this location

Mills Observatory Weekday Open Evening

Wednesday 20th November 2019 from 16:00pm to 22:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Mills Observatory Weekday Open Evening

Thursday 21st November 2019 from 16:00pm to 22:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Mills Observatory Weekday Open Evening

Friday 22nd November 2019 from 16:00pm to 22:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Mills Observatory Weekend Open Day

Saturday 23rd November 2019 from 12:30pm to 16:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Solar Observing

Mills Observatory Weekend Open Day

Sunday 24th November 2019 from 12:30pm to 16:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Solar Observing

Mills Observatory Weekday Open Evening

Monday 25th November 2019 from 16:00pm to 22:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Mills Observatory Weekday Open Evening

Tuesday 26th November 2019 from 16:00pm to 22:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Mills Observatory Weekday Open Evening

Wednesday 27th November 2019 from 16:00pm to 22:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Mills Observatory Weekday Open Evening

Thursday 28th November 2019 from 16:00pm to 22:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Mills Observatory Weekday Open Evening

Friday 29th November 2019 from 16:00pm to 22:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Mills Observatory Weekend Open Day

Saturday 30th November 2019 from 12:30pm to 16:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Solar Observing

Mills Observatory Weekend Open Day

Sunday 1st December 2019 from 12:30pm to 16:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Solar Observing

Mills Observatory Weekday Open Evening

Monday 2nd December 2019 from 16:00pm to 22:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Mills Observatory Weekday Open Evening

Tuesday 3rd December 2019 from 16:00pm to 22:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Mills Observatory Weekday Open Evening

Wednesday 4th December 2019 from 16:00pm to 22:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Mills Observatory Weekday Open Evening

Thursday 5th December 2019 from 16:00pm to 22:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Mills Observatory Weekday Open Evening

Friday 6th December 2019 from 16:00pm to 22:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Mills Observatory Weekend Open Day

Saturday 7th December 2019 from 12:30pm to 16:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Solar Observing

Mills Observatory Weekend Open Day

Sunday 8th December 2019 from 12:30pm to 16:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Solar Observing

Mills Observatory Weekday Open Evening

Monday 9th December 2019 from 16:00pm to 22:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Mills Observatory Weekday Open Evening

Tuesday 10th December 2019 from 16:00pm to 22:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Mills Observatory Weekday Open Evening

Wednesday 11th December 2019 from 16:00pm to 22:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Mills Observatory Weekday Open Evening

Thursday 12th December 2019 from 16:00pm to 22:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Mills Observatory Weekday Open Evening

Friday 13th December 2019 from 16:00pm to 22:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Mills Observatory Weekend Open Day

Saturday 14th December 2019 from 12:30pm to 16:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Solar Observing

Mills Observatory Weekend Open Day

Sunday 15th December 2019 from 12:30pm to 16:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Solar Observing

Mills Observatory Weekday Open Evening

Monday 16th December 2019 from 16:00pm to 22:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Mills Observatory Weekday Open Evening

Tuesday 17th December 2019 from 16:00pm to 22:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Mills Observatory Weekday Open Evening

Wednesday 18th December 2019 from 16:00pm to 22:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Mills Observatory Weekday Open Evening

Thursday 19th December 2019 from 16:00pm to 22:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Mills Observatory Weekday Open Evening

Friday 20th December 2019 from 16:00pm to 22:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Mills Observatory Weekend Open Day

Saturday 21st December 2019 from 12:30pm to 16:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Solar Observing

Mills Observatory Weekend Open Day

Sunday 22nd December 2019 from 12:30pm to 16:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Solar Observing

Mills Observatory Weekend Open Day

Saturday 28th December 2019 from 12:30pm to 16:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Solar Observing

Mills Observatory Weekend Open Day

Sunday 29th December 2019 from 12:30pm to 16:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Solar Observing

Mills Observatory Weekday Open Evening

Monday 30th December 2019 from 16:00pm to 22:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Mills Observatory Weekday Open Evening

Thursday 2nd January 2020 from 16:00pm to 22:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Mills Observatory Weekday Open Evening

Friday 3rd January 2020 from 16:00pm to 22:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Mills Observatory Weekend Open Day

Saturday 4th January 2020 from 12:30pm to 16:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Solar Observing

Mills Observatory Weekend Open Day

Sunday 5th January 2020 from 12:30pm to 16:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Solar Observing

Mills Observatory Weekday Open Evening

Monday 6th January 2020 from 16:00pm to 22:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Mills Observatory Weekday Open Evening

Tuesday 7th January 2020 from 16:00pm to 22:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Mills Observatory Weekday Open Evening

Wednesday 8th January 2020 from 16:00pm to 22:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Mills Observatory Weekday Open Evening

Thursday 9th January 2020 from 16:00pm to 22:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Mills Observatory Weekday Open Evening

Friday 10th January 2020 from 16:00pm to 22:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Mills Observatory Weekend Open Day

Saturday 11th January 2020 from 12:30pm to 16:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Solar Observing

Mills Observatory Weekend Open Day

Sunday 12th January 2020 from 12:30pm to 16:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Solar Observing

Mills Observatory Weekday Open Evening

Monday 13th January 2020 from 16:00pm to 22:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Mills Observatory Weekday Open Evening

Tuesday 14th January 2020 from 16:00pm to 22:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Mills Observatory Weekday Open Evening

Wednesday 15th January 2020 from 16:00pm to 22:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Mills Observatory Weekday Open Evening

Thursday 16th January 2020 from 16:00pm to 22:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Mills Observatory Weekday Open Evening

Friday 17th January 2020 from 16:00pm to 22:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Mills Observatory Weekend Open Day

Saturday 18th January 2020 from 12:30pm to 16:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Solar Observing

Mills Observatory Weekend Open Day

Sunday 19th January 2020 from 12:30pm to 16:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Solar Observing

Mills Observatory Weekday Open Evening

Monday 20th January 2020 from 16:00pm to 22:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Mills Observatory Weekday Open Evening

Tuesday 21st January 2020 from 16:00pm to 22:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Mills Observatory Weekday Open Evening

Wednesday 22nd January 2020 from 16:00pm to 22:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Mills Observatory Weekday Open Evening

Thursday 23rd January 2020 from 16:00pm to 22:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Mills Observatory Weekday Open Evening

Friday 24th January 2020 from 16:00pm to 22:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Mills Observatory Weekend Open Day

Saturday 25th January 2020 from 12:30pm to 16:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Solar Observing

Mills Observatory Weekend Open Day

Sunday 26th January 2020 from 12:30pm to 16:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Solar Observing

Mills Observatory Weekday Open Evening

Monday 27th January 2020 from 16:00pm to 22:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Mills Observatory Weekday Open Evening

Tuesday 28th January 2020 from 16:00pm to 22:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Mills Observatory Weekday Open Evening

Wednesday 29th January 2020 from 16:00pm to 22:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Mills Observatory Weekday Open Evening

Thursday 30th January 2020 from 16:00pm to 22:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Mills Observatory Weekday Open Evening

Friday 31st January 2020 from 16:00pm to 22:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Mills Observatory Weekend Open Day

Saturday 1st February 2020 from 12:30pm to 16:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Solar Observing

Mills Observatory Weekend Open Day

Sunday 2nd February 2020 from 12:30pm to 16:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Solar Observing

Mills Observatory Weekday Open Evening

Monday 3rd February 2020 from 16:00pm to 22:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Mills Observatory Weekday Open Evening

Tuesday 4th February 2020 from 16:00pm to 22:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Mills Observatory Weekday Open Evening

Wednesday 5th February 2020 from 16:00pm to 22:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Mills Observatory Weekday Open Evening

Thursday 6th February 2020 from 16:00pm to 22:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Mills Observatory Weekday Open Evening

Friday 7th February 2020 from 16:00pm to 22:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Mills Observatory Weekend Open Day

Saturday 8th February 2020 from 12:30pm to 16:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Solar Observing

Mills Observatory Weekend Open Day

Sunday 9th February 2020 from 12:30pm to 16:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Solar Observing

Mills Observatory Weekday Open Evening

Monday 10th February 2020 from 16:00pm to 22:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Mills Observatory Weekday Open Evening

Tuesday 11th February 2020 from 16:00pm to 22:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Mills Observatory Weekday Open Evening

Wednesday 12th February 2020 from 16:00pm to 22:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Mills Observatory Weekday Open Evening

Thursday 13th February 2020 from 16:00pm to 22:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Mills Observatory Weekday Open Evening

Friday 14th February 2020 from 16:00pm to 22:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Mills Observatory Weekend Open Day

Saturday 15th February 2020 from 12:30pm to 16:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Solar Observing

Mills Observatory Weekend Open Day

Sunday 16th February 2020 from 12:30pm to 16:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Solar Observing

Mills Observatory Weekday Open Evening

Monday 17th February 2020 from 16:00pm to 22:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Mills Observatory Weekday Open Evening

Tuesday 18th February 2020 from 16:00pm to 22:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Mills Observatory Weekday Open Evening

Wednesday 19th February 2020 from 16:00pm to 22:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Mills Observatory Weekday Open Evening

Thursday 20th February 2020 from 16:00pm to 22:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Mills Observatory Weekday Open Evening

Friday 21st February 2020 from 16:00pm to 22:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Mills Observatory Weekend Open Day

Saturday 22nd February 2020 from 12:30pm to 16:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Solar Observing

Mills Observatory Weekend Open Day

Sunday 23rd February 2020 from 12:30pm to 16:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Solar Observing

Mills Observatory Weekday Open Evening

Monday 24th February 2020 from 16:00pm to 22:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Mills Observatory Weekday Open Evening

Tuesday 25th February 2020 from 16:00pm to 22:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Mills Observatory Weekday Open Evening

Wednesday 26th February 2020 from 16:00pm to 22:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Mills Observatory Weekday Open Evening

Thursday 27th February 2020 from 16:00pm to 22:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Mills Observatory Weekday Open Evening

Friday 28th February 2020 from 16:00pm to 22:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Mills Observatory Weekend Open Day

Saturday 29th February 2020 from 12:30pm to 16:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Solar Observing

Mills Observatory Weekend Open Day

Sunday 1st March 2020 from 12:30pm to 16:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Solar Observing

Mills Observatory Weekday Open Evening

Monday 2nd March 2020 from 16:00pm to 22:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Mills Observatory Weekday Open Evening

Tuesday 3rd March 2020 from 16:00pm to 22:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Mills Observatory Weekday Open Evening

Wednesday 4th March 2020 from 16:00pm to 22:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Mills Observatory Weekday Open Evening

Thursday 5th March 2020 from 16:00pm to 22:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Mills Observatory Weekday Open Evening

Friday 6th March 2020 from 16:00pm to 22:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Mills Observatory Weekend Open Day

Saturday 7th March 2020 from 12:30pm to 16:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Solar Observing

Mills Observatory Weekend Open Day

Sunday 8th March 2020 from 12:30pm to 16:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Solar Observing

Mills Observatory Weekday Open Evening

Monday 9th March 2020 from 16:00pm to 22:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Mills Observatory Weekday Open Evening

Tuesday 10th March 2020 from 16:00pm to 22:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Mills Observatory Weekday Open Evening

Wednesday 11th March 2020 from 16:00pm to 22:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Mills Observatory Weekday Open Evening

Thursday 12th March 2020 from 16:00pm to 22:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Mills Observatory Weekday Open Evening

Friday 13th March 2020 from 16:00pm to 22:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Mills Observatory Weekend Open Day

Saturday 14th March 2020 from 12:30pm to 16:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Solar Observing

Mills Observatory Weekend Open Day

Sunday 15th March 2020 from 12:30pm to 16:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Solar Observing

Mills Observatory Weekday Open Evening

Monday 16th March 2020 from 16:00pm to 22:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Mills Observatory Weekday Open Evening

Tuesday 17th March 2020 from 16:00pm to 22:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Mills Observatory Weekday Open Evening

Wednesday 18th March 2020 from 16:00pm to 22:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Mills Observatory Weekday Open Evening

Thursday 19th March 2020 from 16:00pm to 22:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Mills Observatory Weekday Open Evening

Friday 20th March 2020 from 16:00pm to 22:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Mills Observatory Weekend Open Day

Saturday 21st March 2020 from 12:30pm to 16:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Solar Observing

Mills Observatory Weekend Open Day

Sunday 22nd March 2020 from 12:30pm to 16:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Solar Observing

Mills Observatory Weekday Open Evening

Monday 23rd March 2020 from 16:00pm to 22:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Mills Observatory Weekday Open Evening

Tuesday 24th March 2020 from 16:00pm to 22:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Mills Observatory Weekday Open Evening

Wednesday 25th March 2020 from 16:00pm to 22:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Mills Observatory Weekday Open Evening

Thursday 26th March 2020 from 16:00pm to 22:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Mills Observatory Weekday Open Evening

Friday 27th March 2020 from 16:00pm to 22:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Mills Observatory Weekend Open Day

Saturday 28th March 2020 from 12:30pm to 16:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Solar Observing

Mills Observatory Weekend Open Day

Sunday 29th March 2020 from 12:30pm to 16:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Solar Observing

Mills Observatory Weekday Open Evening

Monday 30th March 2020 from 16:00pm to 22:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Mills Observatory Weekday Open Evening

Tuesday 31st March 2020 from 16:00pm to 22:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Location

When to visit

The best time to visit Mills Observatory can be found on this dark skies calendar.

Add to favourites

To add this location to your favourites and receive optional stargazing event notifications simply login or register.

Stargazing Vouchers

stargazing vouchers
A stargazing experience voucher makes for a fantastic gift! We've got some great suggestions!

Telescopes for beginners

Thinking of purchasing a telescope!? See our guide as to which telescopes we recommend for beginners.

Register to receive stargazing event notifications