Institute of Astronomy

University of Cambridge, Cambridge, CB3 0HA

Location description

Located on the campus of Cambridge University the Insitute of Astronomy boasts a number of large aperture telescopes including the incredible Northumberland Refactor which is 20 feet long! Open evenings are every Wednesday night from October to March with events run in association with Cambridge Astronomical Society.


Observatory

Location has an observatory that is accessible to the public by prior arrangement or during public events.


Tonight's weather forecast

26/09/18
19:00
17°
0%
26/09/18
22:00
15°
0%
27/09/18
01:00
13°
0%
27/09/18
04:00
12°
0%
Weather forecast for Cambridge (1.38 miles away) updated 26/09/18 at 06:01.

Location light pollution

This location is estimated to have light pollution levels similar to a urban setting based on satellite data from CPRE.

Urban
Suburban
Semi-rural
Rural
Dark site
The above demonstrates the estimated effect of light pollution - graphics created using Stellarium.

Forthcoming events at this location

Institute of Astronomy Public Open Night

Wednesday 26th September 2018 from 18:45pm to 21:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Institute of Astronomy Public Open Night

Wednesday 3rd October 2018 from 18:45pm to 21:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Institute of Astronomy Public Open Night

Wednesday 10th October 2018 from 18:45pm to 21:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Institute of Astronomy Public Open Night

Wednesday 17th October 2018 from 18:45pm to 21:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Institute of Astronomy Public Open Night

Wednesday 24th October 2018 from 18:45pm to 21:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Institute of Astronomy Public Open Night

Wednesday 31st October 2018 from 18:45pm to 21:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Institute of Astronomy Public Open Night

Wednesday 7th November 2018 from 18:45pm to 21:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Institute of Astronomy Public Open Night

Wednesday 14th November 2018 from 18:45pm to 21:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Institute of Astronomy Public Open Night

Wednesday 21st November 2018 from 18:45pm to 21:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Institute of Astronomy Public Open Night

Wednesday 28th November 2018 from 18:45pm to 21:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Institute of Astronomy Public Open Night

Wednesday 5th December 2018 from 18:45pm to 21:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Institute of Astronomy Public Open Night

Wednesday 12th December 2018 from 18:45pm to 21:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Institute of Astronomy Public Open Night

Wednesday 19th December 2018 from 18:45pm to 21:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Institute of Astronomy Public Open Night

Wednesday 26th December 2018 from 18:45pm to 21:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Institute of Astronomy Public Open Night

Wednesday 2nd January 2019 from 18:45pm to 21:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Institute of Astronomy Public Open Night

Wednesday 9th January 2019 from 18:45pm to 21:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Institute of Astronomy Public Open Night

Wednesday 16th January 2019 from 18:45pm to 21:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Institute of Astronomy Public Open Night

Wednesday 23rd January 2019 from 18:45pm to 21:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Institute of Astronomy Public Open Night

Wednesday 30th January 2019 from 18:45pm to 21:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Institute of Astronomy Public Open Night

Wednesday 6th February 2019 from 18:45pm to 21:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Institute of Astronomy Public Open Night

Wednesday 13th February 2019 from 18:45pm to 21:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Institute of Astronomy Public Open Night

Wednesday 20th February 2019 from 18:45pm to 21:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Institute of Astronomy Public Open Night

Wednesday 27th February 2019 from 18:45pm to 21:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Institute of Astronomy Public Open Night

Wednesday 6th March 2019 from 18:45pm to 21:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Institute of Astronomy Public Open Night

Wednesday 13th March 2019 from 18:45pm to 21:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Institute of Astronomy Public Open Night

Wednesday 20th March 2019 from 18:45pm to 21:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Institute of Astronomy Public Open Night

Wednesday 27th March 2019 from 18:45pm to 21:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Location

Loading Map....

When to visit

The best time to visit Institute of Astronomy can be found on this dark skies calendar.

Add to favourites

To add this location to your favourites and receive optional stargazing event notifications simply login or register.

Register to receive stargazing event notifications