Wynyard Observatory Open Night

Tuesday 7th April 2020 from 19:30pm to 21:00pm

Wynyard Planetarium & Observatory

Thorpe Thewles, Stockton-on-Tees, County Durham, TS21 3JG


Description

Join astronomers from the Teeside Astronomical Science Centre for this one of their regular Tuesday evening open nights of their observatory in the grounds of Wynyard Park. These events are weather dependent -- if the skies are looking like they will be clear you are welcome to come along, free of charge and without the need to book your visit in advance. This is a great opportunity for everyone including families to experience observing interesting and distant objects through a large telescope!

- This event is weather dependent and will only take place if the skies are clear enough for observing. It is therefore necessary to check the weather forecast and confirm with the event organisers that this event is going ahead.


Organiser

This event is being organised by Teeside Astronomy Science Centre who should be contacted if you have any queries. We highly recommend you confirm this event is indeed going ahead before travelling. If you do attend it would be fantastic if you could let the organiser know you found them via Go Stargazing!


Bookings

No prior booking is required for this event.

Go to the organiser's web page for this event


Location light pollution

This location is estimated to have light pollution levels similar to a suburban setting based on satellite data from CPRE.

Urban
Suburban
Semi-rural
Rural
Dark site
The above demonstrates the estimated effect of light pollution - graphics created using Stellarium.

Event Location

Event Organised By

Add to favourites

To add this location to your favourites and receive optional stargazing event notifications simply login or register.

Stargazing Vouchers

A stargazing experience makes for great a gift... Or you could even treat yourself!

Telescopes for beginners

Thinking of purchasing a telescope!? See our guide as to which telescopes we recommend for beginners.

Other events at this location

Wynyard Observatory Open Night

Tuesday 17th September 2019 from 19:30pm to 21:00pm
Observing Only

Public Star Show at Wynyard Planetarium

Friday 20th September 2019 from 19:30pm to 21:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Wynyard Observatory Open Night

Tuesday 24th September 2019 from 19:30pm to 21:00pm
Observing Only

Wynyard Observatory Open Night

Tuesday 1st October 2019 from 19:30pm to 21:00pm
Observing Only

Public Star Show at Wynyard Planetarium

Friday 4th October 2019 from 19:30pm to 21:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Wynyard Observatory Open Night

Tuesday 8th October 2019 from 19:30pm to 21:00pm
Observing Only

Cleveland and District Astronomical Society Meeting

Friday 11th October 2019 from 19:15pm to 21:30pm
Observing (if clear), Society Meeting

Wynyard Observatory Open Night

Tuesday 15th October 2019 from 19:30pm to 21:00pm
Observing Only

Public Star Show at Wynyard Planetarium

Friday 18th October 2019 from 19:30pm to 21:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Wynyard Observatory Open Night

Tuesday 22nd October 2019 from 19:30pm to 21:00pm
Observing Only

Wynyard Observatory Open Night

Tuesday 29th October 2019 from 19:30pm to 21:00pm
Observing Only

Family Show at Wynyard Planetarium

Friday 1st November 2019 from 18:00pm to 19:30pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Public Star Show at Wynyard Planetarium

Friday 1st November 2019 from 19:30pm to 21:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Wynyard Observatory Open Night

Tuesday 5th November 2019 from 19:30pm to 21:00pm
Observing Only

Cleveland and District Astronomical Society Meeting

Friday 8th November 2019 from 19:15pm to 21:30pm
Observing (if clear), Society Meeting

Wynyard Observatory Open Night

Tuesday 12th November 2019 from 19:30pm to 21:00pm
Observing Only

Public Star Show at Wynyard Planetarium

Friday 15th November 2019 from 19:30pm to 21:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Wynyard Observatory Open Night

Tuesday 19th November 2019 from 19:30pm to 21:00pm
Observing Only

Wynyard Observatory Open Night

Tuesday 26th November 2019 from 19:30pm to 21:00pm
Observing Only

Public Star Show at Wynyard Planetarium

Friday 29th November 2019 from 19:30pm to 21:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Wynyard Observatory Open Night

Tuesday 3rd December 2019 from 19:30pm to 21:00pm
Observing Only

Public Star Show at Wynyard Planetarium

Friday 6th December 2019 from 19:30pm to 21:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Wynyard Observatory Open Night

Tuesday 10th December 2019 from 19:30pm to 21:00pm
Observing Only

Cleveland and District Astronomical Society Meeting

Friday 13th December 2019 from 19:15pm to 21:30pm
Observing (if clear), Society Meeting

Wynyard Observatory Open Night

Tuesday 17th December 2019 from 19:30pm to 21:00pm
Observing Only

Public Star Show at Wynyard Planetarium

Friday 20th December 2019 from 19:30pm to 21:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Wynyard Observatory Open Night

Tuesday 24th December 2019 from 19:30pm to 21:00pm
Observing Only

Family Show at Wynyard Planetarium

Friday 3rd January 2020 from 18:00pm to 19:30pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Public Star Show at Wynyard Planetarium

Friday 3rd January 2020 from 19:30pm to 21:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Wynyard Observatory Open Night

Tuesday 7th January 2020 from 19:30pm to 21:00pm
Observing Only

Cleveland and District Astronomical Society Meeting

Friday 10th January 2020 from 19:15pm to 21:30pm
Observing (if clear), Society Meeting

Wynyard Observatory Open Night

Tuesday 14th January 2020 from 19:30pm to 21:00pm
Observing Only

Public Star Show at Wynyard Planetarium

Friday 17th January 2020 from 19:30pm to 21:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Wynyard Observatory Open Night

Tuesday 21st January 2020 from 19:30pm to 21:00pm
Observing Only

Wynyard Observatory Open Night

Tuesday 28th January 2020 from 19:30pm to 21:00pm
Observing Only

Public Star Show at Wynyard Planetarium

Friday 31st January 2020 from 19:30pm to 21:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Wynyard Observatory Open Night

Tuesday 4th February 2020 from 19:30pm to 21:00pm
Observing Only

Public Star Show at Wynyard Planetarium

Friday 7th February 2020 from 19:30pm to 21:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Wynyard Observatory Open Night

Tuesday 11th February 2020 from 19:30pm to 21:00pm
Observing Only

Cleveland and District Astronomical Society Meeting

Friday 14th February 2020 from 19:15pm to 21:30pm
Observing (if clear), Society Meeting

Wynyard Observatory Open Night

Tuesday 18th February 2020 from 19:30pm to 21:00pm
Observing Only

Family Show at Wynyard Planetarium

Friday 21st February 2020 from 18:00pm to 19:30pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Public Star Show at Wynyard Planetarium

Friday 21st February 2020 from 19:30pm to 21:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Wynyard Observatory Open Night

Tuesday 25th February 2020 from 19:30pm to 21:00pm
Observing Only

Wynyard Observatory Open Night

Tuesday 3rd March 2020 from 19:30pm to 21:00pm
Observing Only

Public Star Show at Wynyard Planetarium

Friday 6th March 2020 from 19:30pm to 21:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Wynyard Observatory Open Night

Tuesday 10th March 2020 from 19:30pm to 21:00pm
Observing Only

Cleveland and District Astronomical Society Meeting

Friday 13th March 2020 from 19:15pm to 21:30pm
Observing (if clear), Society Meeting

Wynyard Observatory Open Night

Tuesday 17th March 2020 from 19:30pm to 21:00pm
Observing Only

Public Star Show at Wynyard Planetarium

Friday 20th March 2020 from 19:30pm to 21:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Wynyard Observatory Open Night

Tuesday 24th March 2020 from 19:30pm to 21:00pm
Observing Only

Wynyard Observatory Open Night

Tuesday 31st March 2020 from 19:30pm to 21:00pm
Observing Only

Public Star Show at Wynyard Planetarium

Friday 3rd April 2020 from 19:30pm to 21:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Cleveland and District Astronomical Society Meeting

Friday 10th April 2020 from 19:15pm to 21:30pm
Observing (if clear), Society Meeting

Wynyard Observatory Open Night

Tuesday 14th April 2020 from 19:30pm to 21:00pm
Observing Only

Family Show at Wynyard Planetarium

Friday 17th April 2020 from 18:00pm to 19:30pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Public Star Show at Wynyard Planetarium

Friday 17th April 2020 from 19:30pm to 21:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Wynyard Observatory Open Night

Tuesday 21st April 2020 from 19:30pm to 21:00pm
Observing Only

Wynyard Observatory Open Night

Tuesday 28th April 2020 from 19:30pm to 21:00pm
Observing Only

Cleveland and District Astronomical Society Meeting

Friday 8th May 2020 from 19:15pm to 21:30pm
Observing (if clear), Society Meeting

Family Show at Wynyard Planetarium

Friday 29th May 2020 from 18:00pm to 19:30pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Cleveland and District Astronomical Society Meeting

Friday 12th June 2020 from 19:15pm to 21:30pm
Observing (if clear), Society Meeting

Register to receive stargazing event notifications