Rosse Observatory Open Evening

Tuesday 17th December 2019 from 19:15pm to 21:15pm

Rosse Observatory

Carleton Road, Pontefract, WF8 3RJ


Description

Everyone is invited to join members of West Yorkshire Astronomical Society for this one of their regular open evenings at Rosse Observatory. These take place every Tuesday and Friday with Tuesday evenings being primarily for members (and tend to be more formal) with Friday evenings being more social and aimed at beginners, novices and anyone interested in astronomy (younger astronomers are also welcome!).

When the skies are clear there are some great views to be had through their newly installed large reflecting telescope with a classroom area for presentations in case of cloudy weather.  There's a small entrance fee for adults however children can attend free of charge!  These events make for a great opportunity to visit your local observatory and go stargazing!

Please do check in advance that the event is going ahead and also to confirm the start time as these can vary throughout the year.

- Event includes an astronomy related presentation or talk.

- Event will involve stargazing and observing the skies through telescopes weather permitting


Organiser

This event is being organised by West Yorkshire Astronomical Society who should be contacted if you have any queries. We highly recommend you confirm this event is indeed going ahead before travelling. If you do attend it would be fantastic if you could let the organiser know you found them via Go Stargazing!


Bookings

Please contact West Yorkshire Astronomical Society directly for more details regarding this event or, if appropriate, contact the event venue.

Go to the organiser's web page for this event


Location light pollution

This location is estimated to have light pollution levels similar to a urban setting based on satellite data from CPRE.

Urban
Suburban
Semi-rural
Rural
Dark site
The above demonstrates the estimated effect of light pollution - graphics created using Stellarium.

Event Location

Event Organised By

Add to favourites

To add this location to your favourites and receive optional stargazing event notifications simply login or register.

Stargazing Vouchers

A stargazing experience makes for great a gift... Or you could even treat yourself!

Telescopes for beginners

Thinking of purchasing a telescope!? See our guide as to which telescopes we recommend for beginners.

Other events at this location

Rosse Observatory Open Evening

Tuesday 24th September 2019 from 19:15pm to 21:15pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Rosse Observatory Open Evening

Friday 27th September 2019 from 19:15pm to 21:15pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Rosse Observatory Open Evening

Tuesday 1st October 2019 from 19:15pm to 21:15pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Rosse Observatory Open Evening

Friday 4th October 2019 from 19:15pm to 21:15pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Rosse Observatory Open Evening

Tuesday 8th October 2019 from 19:15pm to 21:15pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Rosse Observatory Open Evening

Friday 11th October 2019 from 19:15pm to 21:15pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Rosse Observatory Open Evening

Tuesday 15th October 2019 from 19:15pm to 21:15pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Rosse Observatory Open Evening

Friday 18th October 2019 from 19:15pm to 21:15pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Rosse Observatory Open Evening

Tuesday 22nd October 2019 from 19:15pm to 21:15pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Rosse Observatory Open Evening

Friday 25th October 2019 from 19:15pm to 21:15pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Rosse Observatory Open Evening

Tuesday 29th October 2019 from 19:15pm to 21:15pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Rosse Observatory Open Evening

Friday 1st November 2019 from 19:15pm to 21:15pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Rosse Observatory Open Evening

Tuesday 5th November 2019 from 19:15pm to 21:15pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Rosse Observatory Open Evening

Friday 8th November 2019 from 19:15pm to 21:15pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Rosse Observatory Open Evening

Tuesday 12th November 2019 from 19:15pm to 21:15pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Rosse Observatory Open Evening

Friday 15th November 2019 from 19:15pm to 21:15pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Rosse Observatory Open Evening

Tuesday 19th November 2019 from 19:15pm to 21:15pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Rosse Observatory Open Evening

Friday 22nd November 2019 from 19:15pm to 21:15pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Rosse Observatory Open Evening

Tuesday 26th November 2019 from 19:15pm to 21:15pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Rosse Observatory Open Evening

Friday 29th November 2019 from 19:15pm to 21:15pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Rosse Observatory Open Evening

Tuesday 3rd December 2019 from 19:15pm to 21:15pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Rosse Observatory Open Evening

Friday 6th December 2019 from 19:15pm to 21:15pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Rosse Observatory Open Evening

Tuesday 10th December 2019 from 19:15pm to 21:15pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Rosse Observatory Open Evening

Friday 13th December 2019 from 19:15pm to 21:15pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Rosse Observatory Open Evening

Friday 20th December 2019 from 19:15pm to 21:15pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Rosse Observatory Open Evening

Friday 3rd January 2020 from 19:15pm to 21:15pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Rosse Observatory Open Evening

Tuesday 7th January 2020 from 19:15pm to 21:15pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Rosse Observatory Open Evening

Friday 10th January 2020 from 19:15pm to 21:15pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Rosse Observatory Open Evening

Tuesday 14th January 2020 from 19:15pm to 21:15pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Rosse Observatory Open Evening

Friday 17th January 2020 from 19:15pm to 21:15pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Rosse Observatory Open Evening

Tuesday 21st January 2020 from 19:15pm to 21:15pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Rosse Observatory Open Evening

Friday 24th January 2020 from 19:15pm to 21:15pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Rosse Observatory Open Evening

Tuesday 28th January 2020 from 19:15pm to 21:15pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Rosse Observatory Open Evening

Friday 31st January 2020 from 19:15pm to 21:15pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Rosse Observatory Open Evening

Tuesday 4th February 2020 from 19:15pm to 21:15pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Rosse Observatory Open Evening

Friday 7th February 2020 from 19:15pm to 21:15pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Rosse Observatory Open Evening

Tuesday 11th February 2020 from 19:15pm to 21:15pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Rosse Observatory Open Evening

Friday 14th February 2020 from 19:15pm to 21:15pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Rosse Observatory Open Evening

Tuesday 18th February 2020 from 19:15pm to 21:15pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Rosse Observatory Open Evening

Friday 21st February 2020 from 19:15pm to 21:15pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Rosse Observatory Open Evening

Tuesday 25th February 2020 from 19:15pm to 21:15pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Rosse Observatory Open Evening

Friday 28th February 2020 from 19:15pm to 21:15pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Rosse Observatory Open Evening

Tuesday 3rd March 2020 from 19:15pm to 21:15pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Rosse Observatory Open Evening

Friday 6th March 2020 from 19:15pm to 21:15pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Rosse Observatory Open Evening

Tuesday 10th March 2020 from 19:15pm to 21:15pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Rosse Observatory Open Evening

Friday 13th March 2020 from 19:15pm to 21:15pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Rosse Observatory Open Evening

Tuesday 17th March 2020 from 19:15pm to 21:15pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Rosse Observatory Open Evening

Friday 20th March 2020 from 19:15pm to 21:15pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Rosse Observatory Open Evening

Tuesday 24th March 2020 from 19:15pm to 21:15pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Rosse Observatory Open Evening

Friday 27th March 2020 from 19:15pm to 21:15pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Rosse Observatory Open Evening

Tuesday 31st March 2020 from 19:15pm to 21:15pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Rosse Observatory Open Evening

Friday 3rd April 2020 from 19:15pm to 21:15pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Rosse Observatory Open Evening

Tuesday 7th April 2020 from 19:15pm to 21:15pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Rosse Observatory Open Evening

Friday 10th April 2020 from 19:15pm to 21:15pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Rosse Observatory Open Evening

Tuesday 14th April 2020 from 19:15pm to 21:15pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Rosse Observatory Open Evening

Friday 17th April 2020 from 19:15pm to 21:15pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Rosse Observatory Open Evening

Tuesday 21st April 2020 from 19:15pm to 21:15pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Rosse Observatory Open Evening

Friday 24th April 2020 from 19:15pm to 21:15pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Rosse Observatory Open Evening

Tuesday 28th April 2020 from 19:15pm to 21:15pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Rosse Observatory Open Evening

Friday 1st May 2020 from 19:15pm to 21:15pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Register to receive stargazing event notifications