Wynyard Planetarium & Observatory

Thorpe Thewles, Stockton-on-Tees, County Durham, TS21 3JG

Location description

Wynyard Planetarium and Observatory is a popular stargazing location on the outskirts of Norton near Stockton away from the worst of the area's light pollution.

The observatory is home to a large aperture telescope and gives excellent views of the night skies. Volunteers frequently open the observatory for public stargazing sessions should weather permit.

The planetarium offers a digital projection system displaying full-dome movies. Regular "Public Star Show" presentations are given by experienced and enthusiastic astronomers.

Members of Cleveland and Darlington Astronomical Society hold their monthly meetings here. A great place to visit for families and suitable for anyone with an interest in astronomy.


Location event organiser

Teeside Astronomy Science Centre organises stargazing events at this location.


Astronomical society

Meeting place for local astronomical society, often in a location that enables stargazing and observing.


Observatory

Location has an observatory that is accessible to the public by prior arrangement or during public events.


Planetarium

This location has a planetarium offering astronomy presentations projected onto a large curved screen or dome.


Tonight's weather forecast

19/10/18
19:00
12°
1%
19/10/18
22:00
10°
5%
20/10/18
01:00
10°
3%
20/10/18
04:00
10°
4%
Weather forecast for Billingham (3.56 miles away) updated 19/10/18 at 06:01.

Location light pollution

This location is estimated to have light pollution levels similar to a suburban setting based on satellite data from CPRE.

Urban
Suburban
Semi-rural
Rural
Dark site
The above demonstrates the estimated effect of light pollution - graphics created using Stellarium.

Forthcoming events at this location

Public Star Show at Wynyard Planetarium

Friday 19th October 2018 from 19:30pm to 21:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Wynyard Observatory Open Night

Tuesday 23rd October 2018 from 19:30pm to 21:00pm
Observing Only

Wynyard Observatory Open Night

Tuesday 30th October 2018 from 19:30pm to 21:00pm
Observing Only

Public Star Show at Wynyard Planetarium

Friday 2nd November 2018 from 19:30pm to 21:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Wynyard Observatory Open Night

Tuesday 6th November 2018 from 19:30pm to 21:00pm
Observing Only

Cleveland and District Astronomical Society Meeting

Friday 9th November 2018 from 19:15pm to 21:30pm
Observing (if clear), Society Meeting

Wynyard Observatory Open Night

Tuesday 13th November 2018 from 19:30pm to 21:00pm
Observing Only

Public Star Show at Wynyard Planetarium

Friday 16th November 2018 from 19:30pm to 21:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Wynyard Observatory Open Night

Tuesday 20th November 2018 from 19:30pm to 21:00pm
Observing Only

Wynyard Observatory Open Night

Tuesday 27th November 2018 from 19:30pm to 21:00pm
Observing Only

Public Star Show at Wynyard Planetarium

Friday 30th November 2018 from 19:30pm to 21:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Wynyard Observatory Open Night

Tuesday 4th December 2018 from 19:30pm to 21:00pm
Observing Only

Public Star Show at Wynyard Planetarium

Friday 7th December 2018 from 19:30pm to 21:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Wynyard Observatory Open Night

Tuesday 11th December 2018 from 19:30pm to 21:00pm
Observing Only

Cleveland and District Astronomical Society Meeting

Friday 14th December 2018 from 19:15pm to 21:30pm
Observing (if clear), Society Meeting

Wynyard Observatory Open Night

Tuesday 18th December 2018 from 19:30pm to 21:00pm
Observing Only

Public Star Show at Wynyard Planetarium

Friday 21st December 2018 from 19:30pm to 21:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Wynyard Observatory Open Night

Tuesday 25th December 2018 from 19:30pm to 21:00pm
Observing Only

Wynyard Observatory Open Night

Tuesday 1st January 2019 from 19:30pm to 21:00pm
Observing Only

Public Star Show at Wynyard Planetarium

Friday 4th January 2019 from 19:30pm to 21:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Wynyard Observatory Open Night

Tuesday 8th January 2019 from 19:30pm to 21:00pm
Observing Only

Cleveland and District Astronomical Society Meeting

Friday 11th January 2019 from 19:15pm to 21:30pm
Observing (if clear), Society Meeting

Wynyard Observatory Open Night

Tuesday 15th January 2019 from 19:30pm to 21:00pm
Observing Only

Public Star Show at Wynyard Planetarium

Friday 18th January 2019 from 19:30pm to 21:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Wynyard Observatory Open Night

Tuesday 22nd January 2019 from 19:30pm to 21:00pm
Observing Only

Wynyard Observatory Open Night

Tuesday 29th January 2019 from 19:30pm to 21:00pm
Observing Only

Public Star Show at Wynyard Planetarium

Friday 1st February 2019 from 19:30pm to 21:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Wynyard Observatory Open Night

Tuesday 5th February 2019 from 19:30pm to 21:00pm
Observing Only

Cleveland and District Astronomical Society Meeting

Friday 8th February 2019 from 19:15pm to 21:30pm
Observing (if clear), Society Meeting

Wynyard Observatory Open Night

Tuesday 12th February 2019 from 19:30pm to 21:00pm
Observing Only

Public Star Show at Wynyard Planetarium

Friday 15th February 2019 from 19:30pm to 21:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Wynyard Observatory Open Night

Tuesday 19th February 2019 from 19:30pm to 21:00pm
Observing Only

Wynyard Observatory Open Night

Tuesday 26th February 2019 from 19:30pm to 21:00pm
Observing Only

Public Star Show at Wynyard Planetarium

Friday 1st March 2019 from 19:30pm to 21:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Wynyard Observatory Open Night

Tuesday 5th March 2019 from 19:30pm to 21:00pm
Observing Only

Cleveland and District Astronomical Society Meeting

Friday 8th March 2019 from 19:15pm to 21:30pm
Observing (if clear), Society Meeting

Wynyard Observatory Open Night

Tuesday 12th March 2019 from 19:30pm to 21:00pm
Observing Only

Public Star Show at Wynyard Planetarium

Friday 15th March 2019 from 19:30pm to 21:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Wynyard Observatory Open Night

Tuesday 19th March 2019 from 19:30pm to 21:00pm
Observing Only

Wynyard Observatory Open Night

Tuesday 26th March 2019 from 19:30pm to 21:00pm
Observing Only

Public Star Show at Wynyard Planetarium

Friday 29th March 2019 from 19:30pm to 21:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Wynyard Observatory Open Night

Tuesday 2nd April 2019 from 19:30pm to 21:00pm
Observing Only

Public Star Show at Wynyard Planetarium

Friday 5th April 2019 from 19:30pm to 21:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Wynyard Observatory Open Night

Tuesday 9th April 2019 from 19:30pm to 21:00pm
Observing Only

Cleveland and District Astronomical Society Meeting

Friday 12th April 2019 from 19:15pm to 21:30pm
Observing (if clear), Society Meeting

Wynyard Observatory Open Night

Tuesday 16th April 2019 from 19:30pm to 21:00pm
Observing Only

Public Star Show at Wynyard Planetarium

Friday 19th April 2019 from 19:30pm to 21:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Wynyard Observatory Open Night

Tuesday 23rd April 2019 from 19:30pm to 21:00pm
Observing Only

Wynyard Observatory Open Night

Tuesday 30th April 2019 from 19:30pm to 21:00pm
Observing Only

Cleveland and District Astronomical Society Meeting

Friday 10th May 2019 from 19:15pm to 21:30pm
Observing (if clear), Society Meeting

Cleveland and District Astronomical Society Meeting

Friday 14th June 2019 from 19:15pm to 21:30pm
Observing (if clear), Society Meeting

Cleveland and District Astronomical Society Meeting

Friday 13th September 2019 from 19:15pm to 21:30pm
Observing (if clear), Society Meeting

Cleveland and District Astronomical Society Meeting

Friday 11th October 2019 from 19:15pm to 21:30pm
Observing (if clear), Society Meeting

Cleveland and District Astronomical Society Meeting

Friday 8th November 2019 from 19:15pm to 21:30pm
Observing (if clear), Society Meeting

Cleveland and District Astronomical Society Meeting

Friday 13th December 2019 from 19:15pm to 21:30pm
Observing (if clear), Society Meeting

Location

Loading Map....

When to visit

The best time to visit Wynyard Planetarium & Observatory can be found on this dark skies calendar.

Add to favourites

To add this location to your favourites and receive optional stargazing event notifications simply login or register.

Register to receive stargazing event notifications