Twice Brewed Inn & Observatory

Bardon Mill, Hexham, NE47 7AN

Location description

The Twice Brewed Inn is situated within the Southern boundary of the Northumberland International Dark Sky Park and as such is a fantastic place to go stargazing! By day you can visit the nearby Sill Landscape Discovery Centre and explore the stunning remains of the Roman fort at Vindolanda, Hadrians Wall and the famous Sycamore Gap all of which are within walking distance! Grab a hearty meal and a pint of the Inn’s home-brewed beer and you’re set for an evening enjoying the fabulous starry skies above! Absolutely perfect for a family weekend adventure or romantic stargazing getaway!


Location event organiser

Go Stargazing organises stargazing events at this location.


Dark sky discovery site

Designated as a Dark Sky Discovery Site this location is accessible by members of the public and are officially recognised as excellent places to stargaze. Such locations often have free overnight car parking, some have toilet facilities and most do not allow overnight camping.


Observatory

Location has an observatory that is accessible to the public by prior arrangement or during public events.


Stay & gaze

This location benefits from dark skies, relatively low levels of light pollution, is astronomy friendly and suitable for stargazing breaks.


Tonight's weather forecast

23/09/20
19:00
12%
23/09/20
22:00
7%
24/09/20
01:00
3%
24/09/20
04:00
4%
Weather forecast for Once Brewed Youth Hostel (0.40 miles away) updated 23/09/20 at 04:00.

Location light pollution

This location is estimated to have light pollution levels similar to a rural setting based on satellite data from CPRE.

Urban
Suburban
Semi-rural
Rural
Dark site
The above demonstrates the estimated effect of light pollution - graphics created using Stellarium.

When to stargaze at Twice Brewed Inn & Observatory

This location's rural setting means it benefits from dark skies depending on the time of the year and lunar cycle. In the calendar below where you can see stars indicates when the skies will be dark and the best time to stargaze. Yellow areas show the adverse effects of daylight (bold) and moonlight (faded). Hover over a day to see darkness times or click on a date for more information.

Forthcoming events at this location

Stargazing at the Twice Brewed Observatory

Saturday 26th September 2020 from 22:00pm to Sunday 27th September 2020 00:00am
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Stargazing at the Twice Brewed Observatory

Friday 2nd October 2020 from 20:00pm to 22:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Stargazing at the Twice Brewed Observatory

Saturday 3rd October 2020 from 20:00pm to 22:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Stargazing at the Twice Brewed Observatory

Friday 9th October 2020 from 20:00pm to 22:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Stargazing at the Twice Brewed Observatory

Saturday 10th October 2020 from 20:00pm to 22:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Stargazing at the Twice Brewed Observatory

Tuesday 13th October 2020 from 20:00pm to 22:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Stargazing at the Twice Brewed Observatory

Wednesday 14th October 2020 from 20:00pm to 22:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Stargazing at the Twice Brewed Observatory

Thursday 15th October 2020 from 20:00pm to 22:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Stargazing at the Twice Brewed Observatory

Friday 16th October 2020 from 20:00pm to 22:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Stargazing at the Twice Brewed Observatory

Saturday 17th October 2020 from 20:00pm to 22:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Stargazing at the Twice Brewed Observatory

Tuesday 20th October 2020 from 20:00pm to 22:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Stargazing at the Twice Brewed Observatory

Wednesday 21st October 2020 from 20:00pm to 22:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Stargazing at the Twice Brewed Observatory

Thursday 22nd October 2020 from 20:00pm to 22:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Stargazing at the Twice Brewed Observatory

Friday 23rd October 2020 from 20:00pm to 22:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Stargazing at the Twice Brewed Observatory

Saturday 24th October 2020 from 20:00pm to 22:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Stargazing at the Twice Brewed Observatory

Tuesday 27th October 2020 from 20:00pm to 22:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Stargazing at the Twice Brewed Observatory

Wednesday 28th October 2020 from 20:00pm to 22:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Stargazing at the Twice Brewed Observatory

Thursday 29th October 2020 from 20:00pm to 22:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Stargazing at the Twice Brewed Observatory

Friday 30th October 2020 from 20:00pm to 22:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Stargazing at the Twice Brewed Observatory

Saturday 31st October 2020 from 20:00pm to 22:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Stargazing at the Twice Brewed Observatory

Friday 6th November 2020 from 20:00pm to 22:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Stargazing at the Twice Brewed Observatory

Saturday 7th November 2020 from 20:00pm to 22:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Stargazing at the Twice Brewed Observatory

Tuesday 10th November 2020 from 20:00pm to 22:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Stargazing at the Twice Brewed Observatory

Wednesday 11th November 2020 from 20:00pm to 22:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Stargazing at the Twice Brewed Observatory

Thursday 12th November 2020 from 20:00pm to 22:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Stargazing at the Twice Brewed Observatory

Friday 13th November 2020 from 20:00pm to 22:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Stargazing at the Twice Brewed Observatory

Saturday 14th November 2020 from 20:00pm to 22:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Stargazing at the Twice Brewed Observatory

Tuesday 17th November 2020 from 20:00pm to 22:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Stargazing at the Twice Brewed Observatory

Wednesday 18th November 2020 from 20:00pm to 22:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Stargazing at the Twice Brewed Observatory

Thursday 19th November 2020 from 20:00pm to 22:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Stargazing at the Twice Brewed Observatory

Friday 20th November 2020 from 20:00pm to 22:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Stargazing at the Twice Brewed Observatory

Saturday 21st November 2020 from 20:00pm to 22:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Stargazing at the Twice Brewed Observatory

Tuesday 24th November 2020 from 20:00pm to 22:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Stargazing at the Twice Brewed Observatory

Wednesday 25th November 2020 from 20:00pm to 22:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Stargazing at the Twice Brewed Observatory

Friday 27th November 2020 from 20:00pm to 22:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Stargazing at the Twice Brewed Observatory

Saturday 28th November 2020 from 20:00pm to 22:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Stargazing at the Twice Brewed Observatory

Friday 4th December 2020 from 20:00pm to 22:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Stargazing at the Twice Brewed Observatory

Saturday 5th December 2020 from 20:00pm to 22:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Stargazing at the Twice Brewed Observatory

Tuesday 8th December 2020 from 20:00pm to 22:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Stargazing at the Twice Brewed Observatory

Wednesday 9th December 2020 from 20:00pm to 22:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Stargazing at the Twice Brewed Observatory

Thursday 10th December 2020 from 20:00pm to 22:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Stargazing at the Twice Brewed Observatory

Friday 11th December 2020 from 20:00pm to 22:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Stargazing at the Twice Brewed Observatory

Saturday 12th December 2020 from 20:00pm to 22:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

The Geminids Meteors at the Twice Brewed Observatory

Tuesday 15th December 2020 from 20:00pm to 22:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Stargazing at the Twice Brewed Observatory

Thursday 17th December 2020 from 20:00pm to 22:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Stargazing at the Twice Brewed Observatory

Friday 18th December 2020 from 20:00pm to 22:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Stargazing at the Twice Brewed Observatory

Saturday 19th December 2020 from 20:00pm to 22:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Stargazing at the Twice Brewed Observatory

Sunday 20th December 2020 from 20:00pm to 22:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Stargazing at the Twice Brewed Observatory

Tuesday 22nd December 2020 from 20:00pm to 22:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Stargazing at the Twice Brewed Observatory

Wednesday 23rd December 2020 from 20:00pm to 22:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Stargazing at the Twice Brewed Observatory

Tuesday 29th December 2020 from 20:00pm to 22:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Stargazing at the Twice Brewed Observatory

Wednesday 30th December 2020 from 20:00pm to 22:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Location

When to visit

The best time to visit Twice Brewed Inn & Observatory can be found on this dark skies calendar.

Add to favourites

To add this location to your favourites and receive optional stargazing event notifications simply login or register.

Telescopes for beginners

Thinking of purchasing a telescope!? See our guide as to which telescopes we recommend for beginners.

Register to receive stargazing event notifications