Blackheath Common

Blackheath, London, SE3 0TX

Location description

Observing location for members of Flamsteed Astronomical Society who run regular stargazing events here, even with the light pollution there's great views to be had through telescopes of the moon, planets and some of the brighter deep sky objects. Map marker indicates actual meeting place.


Location event organiser

Flamsteed Astronomy Society organises stargazing events at this location.


Private venue

Location accessible out of hours only when stargazing events are scheduled.


Tonight's weather forecast

19/10/18
19:00
13°
0%
19/10/18
22:00
11°
0%
20/10/18
01:00
0%
20/10/18
04:00
0%
Weather forecast for Greenwich Park (0.46 miles away) updated 19/10/18 at 16:01.

Location light pollution

This location is estimated to have light pollution levels similar to a urban setting based on satellite data from CPRE.

Urban
Suburban
Semi-rural
Rural
Dark site
The above demonstrates the estimated effect of light pollution - graphics created using Stellarium.

Forthcoming events at this location

Observing on Blackheath Common

Friday 26th October 2018 from 19:30pm to Sunday 28th October 2018 00:00am
Observing Only

Observing on Blackheath Common

Friday 30th November 2018 from 19:30pm to Saturday 1st December 2018 23:00pm
Observing Only

Observing on Blackheath Common

Friday 14th December 2018 from 19:30pm to Saturday 15th December 2018 23:00pm
Observing Only

Observing on Blackheath Common

Friday 25th January 2019 from 19:30pm to Saturday 26th January 2019 23:00pm
Observing Only

Observing on Blackheath Common

Friday 22nd February 2019 from 19:30pm to Saturday 23rd February 2019 23:00pm
Observing Only

Observing on Blackheath Common

Friday 22nd March 2019 from 20:00pm to Saturday 23rd March 2019 23:00pm
Observing Only

Observing on Blackheath Common

Friday 26th April 2019 from 21:30pm to Sunday 28th April 2019 00:30am
Observing Only

Location

Loading Map....

When to visit

The best time to visit Blackheath Common can be found on this dark skies calendar.

Add to favourites

To add this location to your favourites and receive optional stargazing event notifications simply login or register.

Register to receive stargazing event notifications