See the Perseids at Washington Cygnus Observatory

Saturday 12th August 2017 from 20:30pm to 23:00pm

Cygnus Observatory

Washington Wetland Centre, Washington, Sunderland, NE38 8LE


Description

Sunderland Astronomical Society will be opening the observatory (weather permitting) on Friday 11th and Saturday 12th August 2017 timed to coincide with the peak of this year's annual Perseids meteor shower.

Please check the group's Facebook page at 8pm each evening to confirm if the event is going ahead.

Take warm clothing, chair, blanket and some money for a hot cuppa!

- This event is weather dependent and will only take place if the skies are clear enough for observing. It is therefore necessary to check the weather forecast and confirm with the event organisers that this event is going ahead.


Organiser

This event is being organised by Sunderland Astronomical Society who should be contacted if you have any queries. Please confirm this event is indeed going ahead before travelling.


Bookings

Please check the Sunderland Astronomical Society Facebook page for event details.

Go to the organiser's web page for this event


Location light pollution

This location is estimated to have light pollution levels similar to a suburban setting based on satellite data from CPRE.

Urban
Suburban
Semi-rural
Rural
Dark site
The above demonstrates the estimated effect of light pollution - graphics created using Stellarium.

Event Location

Loading Map....

Event Organised By

Add to favourites

To add this location to your favourites and receive optional stargazing event notifications simply login or register.

Share this event

Let your friends know about this stargazing event.


Other events at this location

Public Observing at Cygnus Observatory

Thursday 21st December 2017 from 19:00pm to 21:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Public Observing at Cygnus Observatory

Sunday 24th December 2017 from 19:00pm to 21:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Public Observing at Cygnus Observatory

Thursday 28th December 2017 from 19:00pm to 21:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Public Observing at Cygnus Observatory

Sunday 31st December 2017 from 19:00pm to 21:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Public Observing at Cygnus Observatory

Thursday 4th January 2018 from 19:00pm to 21:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Public Observing at Cygnus Observatory

Sunday 7th January 2018 from 19:00pm to 21:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Public Observing at Cygnus Observatory

Thursday 11th January 2018 from 19:00pm to 21:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Public Observing at Cygnus Observatory

Sunday 14th January 2018 from 19:00pm to 21:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Public Observing at Cygnus Observatory

Thursday 18th January 2018 from 19:00pm to 21:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Public Observing at Cygnus Observatory

Sunday 21st January 2018 from 19:00pm to 21:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Public Observing at Cygnus Observatory

Thursday 25th January 2018 from 19:00pm to 21:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Public Observing at Cygnus Observatory

Sunday 28th January 2018 from 19:00pm to 21:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Public Observing at Cygnus Observatory

Thursday 1st February 2018 from 19:00pm to 21:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Public Observing at Cygnus Observatory

Sunday 4th February 2018 from 19:00pm to 21:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Public Observing at Cygnus Observatory

Thursday 8th February 2018 from 19:00pm to 21:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Public Observing at Cygnus Observatory

Sunday 11th February 2018 from 19:00pm to 21:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Public Observing at Cygnus Observatory

Thursday 15th February 2018 from 19:00pm to 21:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Public Observing at Cygnus Observatory

Sunday 18th February 2018 from 19:00pm to 21:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Public Observing at Cygnus Observatory

Thursday 22nd February 2018 from 19:00pm to 21:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Public Observing at Cygnus Observatory

Sunday 25th February 2018 from 19:00pm to 21:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Public Observing at Cygnus Observatory

Thursday 1st March 2018 from 19:00pm to 21:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Public Observing at Cygnus Observatory

Sunday 4th March 2018 from 19:00pm to 21:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Public Observing at Cygnus Observatory

Thursday 8th March 2018 from 19:00pm to 21:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Public Observing at Cygnus Observatory

Sunday 11th March 2018 from 19:00pm to 21:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Public Observing at Cygnus Observatory

Thursday 15th March 2018 from 19:00pm to 21:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Public Observing at Cygnus Observatory

Sunday 18th March 2018 from 19:00pm to 21:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Public Observing at Cygnus Observatory

Thursday 22nd March 2018 from 19:00pm to 21:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Public Observing at Cygnus Observatory

Sunday 25th March 2018 from 19:00pm to 21:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Public Observing at Cygnus Observatory

Thursday 29th March 2018 from 19:00pm to 21:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Public Observing at Cygnus Observatory

Sunday 1st April 2018 from 19:00pm to 21:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Public Observing at Cygnus Observatory

Thursday 5th April 2018 from 19:00pm to 21:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Public Observing at Cygnus Observatory

Sunday 8th April 2018 from 19:00pm to 21:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Public Observing at Cygnus Observatory

Thursday 12th April 2018 from 19:00pm to 21:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Public Observing at Cygnus Observatory

Sunday 15th April 2018 from 19:00pm to 21:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Public Observing at Cygnus Observatory

Thursday 19th April 2018 from 19:00pm to 21:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Public Observing at Cygnus Observatory

Sunday 22nd April 2018 from 19:00pm to 21:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Public Observing at Cygnus Observatory

Thursday 26th April 2018 from 19:00pm to 21:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Public Observing at Cygnus Observatory

Sunday 29th April 2018 from 19:00pm to 21:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Register to receive stargazing event notifications