Sir Patrick Moore Astronomy Centre

Les Creux Country Park, St. Brelade, JE3 8LN

Location description

Meeting venue for Jersey Astronomy Club and home of their observatory.


Location event organiser

Jersey Astronomy Club organises stargazing events at this location.


Astronomical society

Meeting place for local astronomical society, often in a location that enables stargazing and observing.


Observatory

Location has an observatory that is accessible to the public by prior arrangement or during public events.


Tonight's weather forecast

29/03/17
19:00
14°
4%
29/03/17
22:00
13°
6%
30/03/17
01:00
12°
6%
30/03/17
04:00
12°
6%
Weather forecast for Beauport (beach) (0.53 miles away) updated 29/03/17 at 12:00.

Light pollution

This location is estimated to have light pollution levels similar to a semi-rural setting based on satellite data from CPRE.

Urban
Suburban
Semi-rural
Rural
Dark site
The above demonstrates the estimated effect of light pollution - graphics created using Stellarium.

When to stargaze at Sir Patrick Moore Astronomy Centre

This location's semi-rural setting means it benefits from dark skies depending on the time of the year and lunar cycle. In the calendar below where you can see stars indicates when the skies will be dark and the best time to stargaze. Yellow areas show the adverse effects of daylight (bold) and moonlight (faded). Hover over a day to see darkness times or click on a date for more information.

Forthcoming events at this location

Jersey Astronomy Club Observatory Open Night

Monday 3rd April 2017 from 20:00pm to 22:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Jersey Astronomy Club Observatory Open Night

Monday 10th April 2017 from 20:00pm to 22:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Jersey Astronomy Club Observatory Open Night

Monday 17th April 2017 from 20:00pm to 22:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Jersey Astronomy Club Observatory Open Night

Monday 24th April 2017 from 20:00pm to 22:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Jersey Astronomy Club Observatory Open Night

Monday 1st May 2017 from 20:00pm to 22:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Jersey Astronomy Club Observatory Open Night

Monday 8th May 2017 from 20:00pm to 22:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Jersey Astronomy Club Observatory Open Night

Monday 15th May 2017 from 20:00pm to 22:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Jersey Astronomy Club Observatory Open Night

Monday 22nd May 2017 from 20:00pm to 22:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Jersey Astronomy Club Observatory Open Night

Monday 29th May 2017 from 20:00pm to 22:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Jersey Astronomy Club Observatory Open Night

Monday 5th June 2017 from 20:00pm to 22:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Jersey Astronomy Club Observatory Open Night

Monday 12th June 2017 from 20:00pm to 22:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Jersey Astronomy Club Observatory Open Night

Monday 19th June 2017 from 20:00pm to 22:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Jersey Astronomy Club Observatory Open Night

Monday 26th June 2017 from 20:00pm to 22:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Jersey Astronomy Club Observatory Open Night

Monday 3rd July 2017 from 20:00pm to 22:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Jersey Astronomy Club Observatory Open Night

Monday 10th July 2017 from 20:00pm to 22:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Jersey Astronomy Club Observatory Open Night

Monday 17th July 2017 from 20:00pm to 22:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Jersey Astronomy Club Observatory Open Night

Monday 24th July 2017 from 20:00pm to 22:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Jersey Astronomy Club Observatory Open Night

Monday 31st July 2017 from 20:00pm to 22:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Jersey Astronomy Club Observatory Open Night

Monday 7th August 2017 from 20:00pm to 22:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Jersey Astronomy Club Observatory Open Night

Monday 14th August 2017 from 20:00pm to 22:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Jersey Astronomy Club Observatory Open Night

Monday 21st August 2017 from 20:00pm to 22:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Jersey Astronomy Club Observatory Open Night

Monday 28th August 2017 from 20:00pm to 22:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Jersey Astronomy Club Observatory Open Night

Monday 4th September 2017 from 20:00pm to 22:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Jersey Astronomy Club Observatory Open Night

Monday 11th September 2017 from 20:00pm to 22:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Jersey Astronomy Club Observatory Open Night

Monday 18th September 2017 from 20:00pm to 22:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Jersey Astronomy Club Observatory Open Night

Monday 25th September 2017 from 20:00pm to 22:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Jersey Astronomy Club Observatory Open Night

Monday 2nd October 2017 from 20:00pm to 22:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Jersey Astronomy Club Observatory Open Night

Monday 9th October 2017 from 20:00pm to 22:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Jersey Astronomy Club Observatory Open Night

Monday 16th October 2017 from 20:00pm to 22:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Jersey Astronomy Club Observatory Open Night

Monday 23rd October 2017 from 20:00pm to 22:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Jersey Astronomy Club Observatory Open Night

Monday 30th October 2017 from 20:00pm to 22:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Jersey Astronomy Club Observatory Open Night

Monday 6th November 2017 from 20:00pm to 22:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Jersey Astronomy Club Observatory Open Night

Monday 13th November 2017 from 20:00pm to 22:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Jersey Astronomy Club Observatory Open Night

Monday 20th November 2017 from 20:00pm to 22:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Jersey Astronomy Club Observatory Open Night

Monday 27th November 2017 from 20:00pm to 22:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Jersey Astronomy Club Observatory Open Night

Monday 4th December 2017 from 20:00pm to 22:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Jersey Astronomy Club Observatory Open Night

Monday 11th December 2017 from 20:00pm to 22:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Jersey Astronomy Club Observatory Open Night

Monday 18th December 2017 from 20:00pm to 22:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Location

Loading Map....

When to visit

The best time to visit Sir Patrick Moore Astronomy Centre can be found on this dark skies calendar.

Add to favourites

To add this location to your favourites and receive optional stargazing event notifications simply login or register.

Share this location

Let your friends know about this stargazing location.

Register to receive stargazing event notifications