Scottish Dark Sky Observatory

Craigengillan Lodge, Dalmellington, East Ayrshire, KA6 7PZ

Location description

The SDSO occupies a fantastic hilltop site on the edge of the Galloway Forest Dark Sky Park. Equipped with two large telescopes and running a full program of stargazing events throughout the whole year this location is one of the premier stargazing locations in the UK.


Location event organiser

Scottish Dark Sky Observatory organises stargazing events at this location.


Dark sky discovery site

Designated as a Dark Sky Discovery Site this location is accessible by members of the public and are officially recognised as excellent places to stargaze. Such locations often have free overnight car parking, some have toilet facilities however rarely allow overnight camping.


Observatory

Location has an observatory that is accessible to the public by prior arrangement or during public events.


Tonight's weather forecast

17/08/18
19:00
14°
92%
17/08/18
22:00
14°
12%
18/08/18
01:00
14°
54%
18/08/18
04:00
13°
59%
Weather forecast for Dalmellington (2.28 miles away) updated 17/08/18 at 16:01.

Location light pollution

This location is estimated to have light pollution levels similar to a dark site setting based on satellite data from CPRE.

Urban
Suburban
Semi-rural
Rural
Dark site
The above demonstrates the estimated effect of light pollution - graphics created using Stellarium.

When to stargaze at Scottish Dark Sky Observatory

This location's dark site setting means it benefits from dark skies depending on the time of the year and lunar cycle. In the calendar below where you can see stars indicates when the skies will be dark and the best time to stargaze. Yellow areas show the adverse effects of daylight (bold) and moonlight (faded). Hover over a day to see darkness times or click on a date for more information.

Forthcoming events at this location

Stargazing at the Scottish Dark Sky Observatory

Friday 17th August 2018 from 20:00pm to Saturday 18th August 2018 00:00am
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Stargazing at the Scottish Dark Sky Observatory

Saturday 18th August 2018 from 20:00pm to Sunday 19th August 2018 00:00am
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Stargazing at the Scottish Dark Sky Observatory

Thursday 23rd August 2018 from 20:00pm to Friday 24th August 2018 00:00am
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Stargazing at the Scottish Dark Sky Observatory

Friday 24th August 2018 from 20:00pm to Saturday 25th August 2018 00:00am
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Stargazing at the Scottish Dark Sky Observatory

Saturday 25th August 2018 from 20:00pm to Sunday 26th August 2018 00:00am
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Stargazing at the Scottish Dark Sky Observatory

Thursday 30th August 2018 from 20:00pm to Friday 31st August 2018 00:00am
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Stargazing at the Scottish Dark Sky Observatory

Friday 31st August 2018 from 20:00pm to Saturday 1st September 2018 00:00am
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Stargazing at the Scottish Dark Sky Observatory

Saturday 1st September 2018 from 20:00pm to Sunday 2nd September 2018 00:00am
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Stargazing at the Scottish Dark Sky Observatory

Thursday 6th September 2018 from 20:00pm to Friday 7th September 2018 00:00am
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Stargazing at the Scottish Dark Sky Observatory

Friday 7th September 2018 from 20:00pm to Saturday 8th September 2018 00:00am
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Stargazing at the Scottish Dark Sky Observatory

Saturday 8th September 2018 from 20:00pm to Sunday 9th September 2018 00:00am
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Stargazing at the Scottish Dark Sky Observatory

Thursday 13th September 2018 from 20:00pm to Friday 14th September 2018 00:00am
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Stargazing at the Scottish Dark Sky Observatory

Friday 14th September 2018 from 20:00pm to Saturday 15th September 2018 00:00am
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Stargazing at the Scottish Dark Sky Observatory

Saturday 15th September 2018 from 20:00pm to Sunday 16th September 2018 00:00am
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Stargazing at the Scottish Dark Sky Observatory

Thursday 20th September 2018 from 20:00pm to Friday 21st September 2018 00:00am
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Stargazing at the Scottish Dark Sky Observatory

Friday 21st September 2018 from 20:00pm to Saturday 22nd September 2018 00:00am
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Stargazing at the Scottish Dark Sky Observatory

Saturday 22nd September 2018 from 20:00pm to Sunday 23rd September 2018 00:00am
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Stargazing at the Scottish Dark Sky Observatory

Thursday 27th September 2018 from 20:00pm to Friday 28th September 2018 00:00am
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Stargazing at the Scottish Dark Sky Observatory

Friday 28th September 2018 from 20:00pm to Saturday 29th September 2018 00:00am
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Stargazing at the Scottish Dark Sky Observatory

Saturday 29th September 2018 from 20:00pm to Sunday 30th September 2018 00:00am
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Stargazing at the Scottish Dark Sky Observatory

Thursday 4th October 2018 from 20:00pm to Friday 5th October 2018 00:00am
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Stargazing at the Scottish Dark Sky Observatory

Friday 5th October 2018 from 20:00pm to Saturday 6th October 2018 00:00am
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Stargazing at the Scottish Dark Sky Observatory

Saturday 6th October 2018 from 20:00pm to Sunday 7th October 2018 00:00am
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Stargazing at the Scottish Dark Sky Observatory

Thursday 11th October 2018 from 20:00pm to Friday 12th October 2018 00:00am
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Stargazing at the Scottish Dark Sky Observatory

Friday 12th October 2018 from 20:00pm to Saturday 13th October 2018 00:00am
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Stargazing at the Scottish Dark Sky Observatory

Saturday 13th October 2018 from 20:00pm to Sunday 14th October 2018 00:00am
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Stargazing at the Scottish Dark Sky Observatory

Thursday 18th October 2018 from 20:00pm to Friday 19th October 2018 00:00am
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Stargazing at the Scottish Dark Sky Observatory

Friday 19th October 2018 from 20:00pm to Saturday 20th October 2018 00:00am
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Stargazing at the Scottish Dark Sky Observatory

Saturday 20th October 2018 from 20:00pm to Sunday 21st October 2018 00:00am
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Stargazing at the Scottish Dark Sky Observatory

Thursday 25th October 2018 from 20:00pm to Friday 26th October 2018 00:00am
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Stargazing at the Scottish Dark Sky Observatory

Friday 26th October 2018 from 20:00pm to Saturday 27th October 2018 00:00am
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Stargazing at the Scottish Dark Sky Observatory

Saturday 27th October 2018 from 20:00pm to Sunday 28th October 2018 00:00am
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Stargazing at the Scottish Dark Sky Observatory

Thursday 1st November 2018 from 20:00pm to 23:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Stargazing at the Scottish Dark Sky Observatory

Friday 2nd November 2018 from 20:00pm to 23:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Stargazing at the Scottish Dark Sky Observatory

Saturday 3rd November 2018 from 20:00pm to 23:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Stargazing at the Scottish Dark Sky Observatory

Thursday 8th November 2018 from 20:00pm to 23:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Stargazing at the Scottish Dark Sky Observatory

Friday 9th November 2018 from 20:00pm to 23:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Stargazing at the Scottish Dark Sky Observatory

Saturday 10th November 2018 from 20:00pm to 23:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Stargazing at the Scottish Dark Sky Observatory

Thursday 15th November 2018 from 20:00pm to 23:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Stargazing at the Scottish Dark Sky Observatory

Friday 16th November 2018 from 20:00pm to 23:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Stargazing at the Scottish Dark Sky Observatory

Saturday 17th November 2018 from 20:00pm to 23:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Stargazing at the Scottish Dark Sky Observatory

Thursday 22nd November 2018 from 20:00pm to 23:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Stargazing at the Scottish Dark Sky Observatory

Friday 23rd November 2018 from 20:00pm to 23:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Stargazing at the Scottish Dark Sky Observatory

Saturday 24th November 2018 from 20:00pm to 23:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Stargazing at the Scottish Dark Sky Observatory

Thursday 29th November 2018 from 20:00pm to 23:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Stargazing at the Scottish Dark Sky Observatory

Friday 30th November 2018 from 20:00pm to 23:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Stargazing at the Scottish Dark Sky Observatory

Saturday 1st December 2018 from 20:00pm to 23:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Stargazing at the Scottish Dark Sky Observatory

Thursday 6th December 2018 from 20:00pm to 23:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Stargazing at the Scottish Dark Sky Observatory

Friday 7th December 2018 from 20:00pm to 23:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Stargazing at the Scottish Dark Sky Observatory

Saturday 8th December 2018 from 20:00pm to 23:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Stargazing at the Scottish Dark Sky Observatory

Thursday 13th December 2018 from 20:00pm to 23:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Stargazing at the Scottish Dark Sky Observatory

Friday 14th December 2018 from 20:00pm to 23:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Stargazing at the Scottish Dark Sky Observatory

Saturday 15th December 2018 from 20:00pm to 23:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Stargazing at the Scottish Dark Sky Observatory

Thursday 20th December 2018 from 20:00pm to 23:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Stargazing at the Scottish Dark Sky Observatory

Friday 21st December 2018 from 20:00pm to 23:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Stargazing at the Scottish Dark Sky Observatory

Saturday 22nd December 2018 from 20:00pm to 23:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Location

Loading Map....

When to visit

The best time to visit Scottish Dark Sky Observatory can be found on this dark skies calendar.

Add to favourites

To add this location to your favourites and receive optional stargazing event notifications simply login or register.

Share this location

Let your friends know about this stargazing location.

Register to receive stargazing event notifications