Leighton Observatory

Pex Hill Visitors Centre, Widnes, WA8 5QW

Location description

Home of Liverpool Astronomical Society who run frequent stargazing sessions from their observatory.


Location event organiser

Liverpool Astronomical Society organises stargazing events at this location.


Astronomical society

Meeting place for local astronomical society, often in a location that enables stargazing and observing.


Observatory

Location has an observatory that is accessible to the public by prior arrangement or during public events.


Tonight's weather forecast

15/12/17
18:00
0%
15/12/17
21:00
0%
16/12/17
00:00
0%
16/12/17
03:00
0%
Weather forecast for Whiston Cross (2.23 miles away) updated 15/12/17 at 06:00.

Location light pollution

This location is estimated to have light pollution levels similar to a urban setting based on satellite data from CPRE.

Urban
Suburban
Semi-rural
Rural
Dark site
The above demonstrates the estimated effect of light pollution - graphics created using Stellarium.

Forthcoming events at this location

Weekly Observing at Leighton Observatory

Wednesday 20th December 2017 from 19:00pm to Monday 30th April 2018 21:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Weekly Observing at Leighton Observatory

Wednesday 3rd January 2018 from 00:00am to 00:00am
Observing (if clear)

Weekly Observing at Leighton Observatory

Wednesday 10th January 2018 from 00:00am to 00:00am
Observing (if clear)

Weekly Observing at Leighton Observatory

Wednesday 17th January 2018 from 00:00am to 00:00am
Observing (if clear)

Weekly Observing at Leighton Observatory

Wednesday 24th January 2018 from 00:00am to 00:00am
Observing (if clear)

Weekly Observing at Leighton Observatory

Wednesday 31st January 2018 from 00:00am to 00:00am
Observing (if clear)

Weekly Observing at Leighton Observatory

Wednesday 7th February 2018 from 00:00am to 00:00am
Observing (if clear)

Weekly Observing at Leighton Observatory

Wednesday 14th February 2018 from 00:00am to 00:00am
Observing (if clear)

Weekly Observing at Leighton Observatory

Wednesday 21st February 2018 from 00:00am to 00:00am
Observing (if clear)

Weekly Observing at Leighton Observatory

Wednesday 28th February 2018 from 00:00am to 00:00am
Observing (if clear)

Weekly Observing at Leighton Observatory

Wednesday 7th March 2018 from 00:00am to 00:00am
Observing (if clear)

Weekly Observing at Leighton Observatory

Wednesday 14th March 2018 from 00:00am to 00:00am
Observing (if clear)

Weekly Observing at Leighton Observatory

Wednesday 21st March 2018 from 00:00am to 00:00am
Observing (if clear)

Weekly Observing at Leighton Observatory

Wednesday 28th March 2018 from 00:00am to 00:00am
Observing (if clear)

Weekly Observing at Leighton Observatory

Wednesday 4th April 2018 from 00:00am to 00:00am
Observing (if clear)

Weekly Observing at Leighton Observatory

Wednesday 11th April 2018 from 00:00am to 00:00am
Observing (if clear)

Weekly Observing at Leighton Observatory

Wednesday 18th April 2018 from 00:00am to 00:00am
Observing (if clear)

Weekly Observing at Leighton Observatory

Wednesday 25th April 2018 from 00:00am to 00:00am
Observing (if clear)

Location

Loading Map....

When to visit

The best time to visit Leighton Observatory can be found on this dark skies calendar.

Add to favourites

To add this location to your favourites and receive optional stargazing event notifications simply login or register.

Share this location

Let your friends know about this stargazing location.

Register to receive stargazing event notifications