Keele Observatory

Keele University, Stoke-on-Trent, ST5 5BG

Location description

The Keele Observatory, located on the campus of Keele University, is home to a fantastic and historic 31cm aperture refracting telescope that dates back to 1874. Open all year round to the public on Tuesday nights and Saturday afternoons.


Location event organiser

Keele Observatory organises stargazing events at this location.


Observatory

Location has an observatory that is accessible to the public by prior arrangement or during public events.


Tonight's weather forecast

16/07/18
19:00
17°
9%
16/07/18
22:00
15°
4%
17/07/18
01:00
13°
0%
17/07/18
04:00
12°
0%
Weather forecast for Silverdale (0.73 miles away) updated 16/07/18 at 00:01.

Location light pollution

This location is estimated to have light pollution levels similar to a urban setting based on satellite data from CPRE.

Urban
Suburban
Semi-rural
Rural
Dark site
The above demonstrates the estimated effect of light pollution - graphics created using Stellarium.

Forthcoming events at this location

Keele Observatory Public Open Evening

Tuesday 17th July 2018 from 20:00pm to 22:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Keele Observatory Solar Observing

Saturday 21st July 2018 from 13:00pm to 15:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Keele Observatory Public Open Evening

Tuesday 24th July 2018 from 20:00pm to 22:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Keele Observatory Solar Observing

Saturday 28th July 2018 from 13:00pm to 15:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Keele Observatory Public Open Evening

Tuesday 31st July 2018 from 20:00pm to 22:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Keele Observatory Solar Observing

Saturday 4th August 2018 from 13:00pm to 15:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Keele Observatory Public Open Evening

Tuesday 7th August 2018 from 20:00pm to 22:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Keele Observatory Solar Observing

Saturday 11th August 2018 from 13:00pm to 15:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Keele Observatory Public Open Evening

Tuesday 14th August 2018 from 20:00pm to 22:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Keele Observatory Solar Observing

Saturday 18th August 2018 from 13:00pm to 15:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Keele Observatory Public Open Evening

Tuesday 21st August 2018 from 20:00pm to 22:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Keele Observatory Solar Observing

Saturday 25th August 2018 from 13:00pm to 15:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Keele Observatory Public Open Evening

Tuesday 28th August 2018 from 20:00pm to 22:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Keele Observatory Solar Observing

Saturday 1st September 2018 from 13:00pm to 15:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Keele Observatory Public Open Evening

Tuesday 4th September 2018 from 20:00pm to 22:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Keele Observatory Solar Observing

Saturday 8th September 2018 from 13:00pm to 15:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Keele Observatory Public Open Evening

Tuesday 11th September 2018 from 20:00pm to 22:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Keele Observatory Solar Observing

Saturday 15th September 2018 from 13:00pm to 15:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Keele Observatory Public Open Evening

Tuesday 18th September 2018 from 20:00pm to 22:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Keele Observatory Solar Observing

Saturday 22nd September 2018 from 13:00pm to 15:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Keele Observatory Public Open Evening

Tuesday 25th September 2018 from 20:00pm to 22:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Keele Observatory Solar Observing

Saturday 29th September 2018 from 13:00pm to 15:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Keele Observatory Public Open Evening

Tuesday 2nd October 2018 from 20:00pm to 22:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Keele Observatory Solar Observing

Saturday 6th October 2018 from 13:00pm to 15:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Keele Observatory Public Open Evening

Tuesday 9th October 2018 from 20:00pm to 22:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Keele Observatory Solar Observing

Saturday 13th October 2018 from 13:00pm to 15:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Keele Observatory Public Open Evening

Tuesday 16th October 2018 from 20:00pm to 22:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Keele Observatory Solar Observing

Saturday 20th October 2018 from 13:00pm to 15:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Keele Observatory Public Open Evening

Tuesday 23rd October 2018 from 20:00pm to 22:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Keele Observatory Solar Observing

Saturday 27th October 2018 from 13:00pm to 15:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Keele Observatory Public Open Evening

Tuesday 30th October 2018 from 20:00pm to 22:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Keele Observatory Solar Observing

Saturday 3rd November 2018 from 13:00pm to 15:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Keele Observatory Public Open Evening

Tuesday 6th November 2018 from 20:00pm to 22:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Keele Observatory Solar Observing

Saturday 10th November 2018 from 13:00pm to 15:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Keele Observatory Public Open Evening

Tuesday 13th November 2018 from 20:00pm to 22:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Keele Observatory Solar Observing

Saturday 17th November 2018 from 13:00pm to 15:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Keele Observatory Public Open Evening

Tuesday 20th November 2018 from 20:00pm to 22:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Keele Observatory Solar Observing

Saturday 24th November 2018 from 13:00pm to 15:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Keele Observatory Public Open Evening

Tuesday 27th November 2018 from 20:00pm to 22:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Keele Observatory Solar Observing

Saturday 1st December 2018 from 13:00pm to 15:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Keele Observatory Public Open Evening

Tuesday 4th December 2018 from 20:00pm to 22:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Keele Observatory Solar Observing

Saturday 8th December 2018 from 13:00pm to 15:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Keele Observatory Public Open Evening

Tuesday 11th December 2018 from 20:00pm to 22:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Keele Observatory Solar Observing

Saturday 15th December 2018 from 13:00pm to 15:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Keele Observatory Public Open Evening

Tuesday 18th December 2018 from 20:00pm to 22:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Keele Observatory Public Open Evening

Tuesday 1st January 2019 from 20:00pm to 22:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Keele Observatory Public Open Evening

Tuesday 8th January 2019 from 20:00pm to 22:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Keele Observatory Public Open Evening

Tuesday 15th January 2019 from 20:00pm to 22:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Keele Observatory Public Open Evening

Tuesday 22nd January 2019 from 20:00pm to 22:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Keele Observatory Public Open Evening

Tuesday 29th January 2019 from 20:00pm to 22:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Keele Observatory Public Open Evening

Tuesday 5th February 2019 from 20:00pm to 22:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Keele Observatory Public Open Evening

Tuesday 12th February 2019 from 20:00pm to 22:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Keele Observatory Public Open Evening

Tuesday 19th February 2019 from 20:00pm to 22:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Keele Observatory Public Open Evening

Tuesday 26th February 2019 from 20:00pm to 22:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Keele Observatory Public Open Evening

Tuesday 5th March 2019 from 20:00pm to 22:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Keele Observatory Public Open Evening

Tuesday 12th March 2019 from 20:00pm to 22:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Keele Observatory Public Open Evening

Tuesday 19th March 2019 from 20:00pm to 22:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Keele Observatory Public Open Evening

Tuesday 26th March 2019 from 20:00pm to 22:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Keele Observatory Public Open Evening

Tuesday 2nd April 2019 from 20:00pm to 22:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Keele Observatory Public Open Evening

Tuesday 9th April 2019 from 20:00pm to 22:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Keele Observatory Public Open Evening

Tuesday 16th April 2019 from 20:00pm to 22:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Keele Observatory Public Open Evening

Tuesday 23rd April 2019 from 20:00pm to 22:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Keele Observatory Public Open Evening

Tuesday 30th April 2019 from 20:00pm to 22:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Keele Observatory Public Open Evening

Tuesday 7th May 2019 from 20:00pm to 22:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Keele Observatory Public Open Evening

Tuesday 14th May 2019 from 20:00pm to 22:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Keele Observatory Public Open Evening

Tuesday 21st May 2019 from 20:00pm to 22:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Keele Observatory Public Open Evening

Tuesday 28th May 2019 from 20:00pm to 22:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Location

Loading Map....

When to visit

The best time to visit Keele Observatory can be found on this dark skies calendar.

Add to favourites

To add this location to your favourites and receive optional stargazing event notifications simply login or register.

Share this location

Let your friends know about this stargazing location.

Register to receive stargazing event notifications