Keele Observatory

Keele University, Stoke-on-Trent, ST5 5BG

Location description

The Keele Observatory, located on the campus of Keele University, is home to a fantastic and historic 31cm aperture refracting telescope that dates back to 1874. Open all year round to the public on Tuesday nights and Saturday afternoons.


Location event organiser

Keele Observatory organises stargazing events at this location.


Observatory

Location has an observatory that is accessible to the public by prior arrangement or during public events.


Tonight's weather forecast

20/08/17
22:00
13°
90%
21/08/17
01:00
13°
7%
21/08/17
04:00
13°
3%
Weather forecast for Silverdale (0.73 miles away) updated 21/08/17 at 00:01.

Light pollution

This location is estimated to have light pollution levels similar to a urban setting based on satellite data from CPRE.

Urban
Suburban
Semi-rural
Rural
Dark site
The above demonstrates the estimated effect of light pollution - graphics created using Stellarium.

Forthcoming events at this location

Keele Observatory Public Open Evening

Tuesday 22nd August 2017 from 20:00pm to 22:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Keele Observatory Solar Observing

Saturday 26th August 2017 from 13:00pm to 15:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Keele Observatory Public Open Evening

Tuesday 29th August 2017 from 20:00pm to 22:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Keele Observatory Solar Observing

Saturday 2nd September 2017 from 13:00pm to 15:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Keele Observatory Public Open Evening

Tuesday 5th September 2017 from 20:00pm to 22:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Keele Observatory Solar Observing

Saturday 9th September 2017 from 13:00pm to 15:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Keele Observatory Public Open Evening

Tuesday 12th September 2017 from 20:00pm to 22:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Keele Observatory Solar Observing

Saturday 16th September 2017 from 13:00pm to 15:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Keele Observatory Public Open Evening

Tuesday 19th September 2017 from 20:00pm to 22:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Keele Observatory Solar Observing

Saturday 23rd September 2017 from 13:00pm to 15:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Keele Observatory Public Open Evening

Tuesday 26th September 2017 from 20:00pm to 22:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Keele Observatory Solar Observing

Saturday 30th September 2017 from 13:00pm to 15:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Keele Observatory Public Open Evening

Tuesday 3rd October 2017 from 20:00pm to 22:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Keele Observatory Solar Observing

Saturday 7th October 2017 from 13:00pm to 15:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Keele Observatory Public Open Evening

Tuesday 10th October 2017 from 20:00pm to 22:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Keele Observatory Solar Observing

Saturday 14th October 2017 from 13:00pm to 15:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Keele Observatory Public Open Evening

Tuesday 17th October 2017 from 20:00pm to 22:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Keele Observatory Solar Observing

Saturday 21st October 2017 from 13:00pm to 15:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Keele Observatory Public Open Evening

Tuesday 24th October 2017 from 20:00pm to 22:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Keele Observatory Solar Observing

Saturday 28th October 2017 from 13:00pm to 15:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Keele Observatory Public Open Evening

Tuesday 31st October 2017 from 20:00pm to 22:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Keele Observatory Solar Observing

Saturday 4th November 2017 from 13:00pm to 15:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Keele Observatory Public Open Evening

Tuesday 7th November 2017 from 20:00pm to 22:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Keele Observatory Solar Observing

Saturday 11th November 2017 from 13:00pm to 15:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Keele Observatory Public Open Evening

Tuesday 14th November 2017 from 20:00pm to 22:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Keele Observatory Solar Observing

Saturday 18th November 2017 from 13:00pm to 15:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Keele Observatory Public Open Evening

Tuesday 21st November 2017 from 20:00pm to 22:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Keele Observatory Solar Observing

Saturday 25th November 2017 from 13:00pm to 15:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Keele Observatory Public Open Evening

Tuesday 28th November 2017 from 20:00pm to 22:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Keele Observatory Solar Observing

Saturday 2nd December 2017 from 13:00pm to 15:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Keele Observatory Public Open Evening

Tuesday 5th December 2017 from 20:00pm to 22:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Keele Observatory Solar Observing

Saturday 9th December 2017 from 13:00pm to 15:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Keele Observatory Public Open Evening

Tuesday 12th December 2017 from 20:00pm to 22:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Keele Observatory Solar Observing

Saturday 16th December 2017 from 13:00pm to 15:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Location

Loading Map....

When to visit

The best time to visit Keele Observatory can be found on this dark skies calendar.

Add to favourites

To add this location to your favourites and receive optional stargazing event notifications simply login or register.

Share this location

Let your friends know about this stargazing location.

Register to receive stargazing event notifications