Godlee Observatory

Sackville Street, Manchester, M1 7AY

Location description

Located on the Sackville Street Building of the University of Manchester the Godlee Observatory is home to the Manchester Astronomical Society.

Above photo by Manchester Astronomical Society.


Location event organiser

Manchester Astronomical Society organises stargazing events at this location.


Observatory

Location has an observatory that is accessible to the public by prior arrangement or during public events.


Tonight's weather forecast

21/01/18
18:00
93%
21/01/18
21:00
18%
22/01/18
00:00
3%
22/01/18
03:00
5%
Weather forecast for Manchester (0.57 miles away) updated 21/01/18 at 16:00.

Location light pollution

This location is estimated to have light pollution levels similar to a urban setting based on satellite data from CPRE.

Urban
Suburban
Semi-rural
Rural
Dark site
The above demonstrates the estimated effect of light pollution - graphics created using Stellarium.

Forthcoming events at this location

Observing with Manchester Astronomical Society

Thursday 25th January 2018 from 19:00pm to 21:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Observing with Manchester Astronomical Society

Thursday 1st February 2018 from 19:00pm to 21:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Observing with Manchester Astronomical Society

Thursday 8th February 2018 from 19:00pm to 21:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Observing with Manchester Astronomical Society

Thursday 15th February 2018 from 19:00pm to 21:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Observing with Manchester Astronomical Society

Thursday 22nd February 2018 from 19:00pm to 21:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Observing with Manchester Astronomical Society

Thursday 1st March 2018 from 19:00pm to 21:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Observing with Manchester Astronomical Society

Thursday 8th March 2018 from 19:00pm to 21:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Observing with Manchester Astronomical Society

Thursday 15th March 2018 from 19:00pm to 21:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Observing with Manchester Astronomical Society

Thursday 22nd March 2018 from 19:00pm to 21:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Observing with Manchester Astronomical Society

Thursday 29th March 2018 from 19:00pm to 21:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Observing with Manchester Astronomical Society

Thursday 5th April 2018 from 19:00pm to 21:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Observing with Manchester Astronomical Society

Thursday 12th April 2018 from 19:00pm to 21:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Observing with Manchester Astronomical Society

Thursday 19th April 2018 from 19:00pm to 21:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Observing with Manchester Astronomical Society

Thursday 26th April 2018 from 19:00pm to 21:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Observing with Manchester Astronomical Society

Thursday 3rd May 2018 from 19:00pm to 21:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Observing with Manchester Astronomical Society

Thursday 10th May 2018 from 19:00pm to 21:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Observing with Manchester Astronomical Society

Thursday 17th May 2018 from 19:00pm to 21:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Observing with Manchester Astronomical Society

Thursday 24th May 2018 from 19:00pm to 21:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Observing with Manchester Astronomical Society

Thursday 31st May 2018 from 19:00pm to 21:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Observing with Manchester Astronomical Society

Thursday 7th June 2018 from 19:00pm to 21:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Observing with Manchester Astronomical Society

Thursday 14th June 2018 from 19:00pm to 21:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Observing with Manchester Astronomical Society

Thursday 21st June 2018 from 19:00pm to 21:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Observing with Manchester Astronomical Society

Thursday 28th June 2018 from 19:00pm to 21:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Observing with Manchester Astronomical Society

Thursday 5th July 2018 from 19:00pm to 21:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Observing with Manchester Astronomical Society

Thursday 12th July 2018 from 19:00pm to 21:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Observing with Manchester Astronomical Society

Thursday 19th July 2018 from 19:00pm to 21:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Observing with Manchester Astronomical Society

Thursday 26th July 2018 from 19:00pm to 21:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Observing with Manchester Astronomical Society

Thursday 2nd August 2018 from 19:00pm to 21:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Observing with Manchester Astronomical Society

Thursday 9th August 2018 from 19:00pm to 21:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Observing with Manchester Astronomical Society

Thursday 16th August 2018 from 19:00pm to 21:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Observing with Manchester Astronomical Society

Thursday 23rd August 2018 from 19:00pm to 21:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Observing with Manchester Astronomical Society

Thursday 30th August 2018 from 19:00pm to 21:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Nationwide Event

Location

Loading Map....

When to visit

The best time to visit Godlee Observatory can be found on this dark skies calendar.

Add to favourites

To add this location to your favourites and receive optional stargazing event notifications simply login or register.

Share this location

Let your friends know about this stargazing location.

Register to receive stargazing event notifications