Chesterfield Barnett Observatory

Hastings Close, Chesterfield, S41 8RH, East Midlands

Location description

Run by the enthusiastic members of Chesterfield Astronomical Society the Chesterfield Barnett Observatory is a wonderful facility housing a huge and impressive 18" aperture telescope and lecture room with excellent amenities. The location is frequently open to the public and is very much worth a visit!


Location event organiser

Chesterfield Astronomical Society organises stargazing events at this location.


Astronomical society

Meeting place for local astronomical society, often in a location that enables stargazing and observing.


Observatory

Location has an observatory that is accessible to the public by prior arrangement or during public events.


Tonight's weather forecast

16/07/18
19:00
21°
7%
16/07/18
22:00
17°
40%
17/07/18
01:00
16°
44%
17/07/18
04:00
14°
3%
Weather forecast for Chesterfield (1.63 miles away) updated 16/07/18 at 12:00.

Location light pollution

This location is estimated to have light pollution levels similar to a urban setting based on satellite data from CPRE.

Urban
Suburban
Semi-rural
Rural
Dark site
The above demonstrates the estimated effect of light pollution - graphics created using Stellarium.

Forthcoming events at this location

Chesterfield Barnett Observatory - All Welcome!

Friday 20th July 2018 from 20:00pm to Saturday 21st July 2018 00:00am
Observing (if clear)

Chesterfield Barnett Observatory - All Welcome!

Friday 27th July 2018 from 20:00pm to Saturday 28th July 2018 00:00am
Observing (if clear)

Chesterfield Barnett Observatory - All Welcome!

Friday 3rd August 2018 from 20:00pm to Saturday 4th August 2018 00:00am
Observing (if clear)

Chesterfield Barnett Observatory - All Welcome!

Friday 10th August 2018 from 20:00pm to Saturday 11th August 2018 00:00am
Observing (if clear)

Chesterfield Barnett Observatory - All Welcome!

Friday 17th August 2018 from 20:00pm to Saturday 18th August 2018 00:00am
Observing (if clear)

Chesterfield Barnett Observatory - All Welcome!

Friday 24th August 2018 from 20:00pm to Saturday 25th August 2018 00:00am
Observing (if clear)

Chesterfield Barnett Observatory - All Welcome!

Friday 31st August 2018 from 20:00pm to Saturday 1st September 2018 00:00am
Observing (if clear)

Chesterfield Barnett Observatory - All Welcome!

Friday 7th September 2018 from 20:00pm to Saturday 8th September 2018 00:00am
Observing (if clear)

Chesterfield Barnett Observatory - All Welcome!

Friday 14th September 2018 from 20:00pm to Saturday 15th September 2018 00:00am
Observing (if clear)

Chesterfield Barnett Observatory - All Welcome!

Friday 21st September 2018 from 20:00pm to Saturday 22nd September 2018 00:00am
Observing (if clear)

Chesterfield Barnett Observatory - All Welcome!

Friday 28th September 2018 from 20:00pm to Saturday 29th September 2018 00:00am
Observing (if clear)

Chesterfield Barnett Observatory - All Welcome!

Friday 5th October 2018 from 20:00pm to Saturday 6th October 2018 00:00am
Observing (if clear)

Chesterfield Barnett Observatory - All Welcome!

Friday 12th October 2018 from 20:00pm to Saturday 13th October 2018 00:00am
Observing (if clear)

Chesterfield Barnett Observatory - All Welcome!

Friday 19th October 2018 from 20:00pm to Saturday 20th October 2018 00:00am
Observing (if clear)

Chesterfield Barnett Observatory - All Welcome!

Friday 26th October 2018 from 20:00pm to Saturday 27th October 2018 00:00am
Observing (if clear)

Chesterfield Barnett Observatory - All Welcome!

Friday 2nd November 2018 from 20:00pm to 23:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Chesterfield Barnett Observatory - All Welcome!

Friday 9th November 2018 from 20:00pm to 23:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Chesterfield Barnett Observatory - All Welcome!

Friday 16th November 2018 from 20:00pm to 23:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Chesterfield Barnett Observatory - All Welcome!

Friday 23rd November 2018 from 20:00pm to 23:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Chesterfield Barnett Observatory - All Welcome!

Friday 30th November 2018 from 20:00pm to 23:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Chesterfield Barnett Observatory - All Welcome!

Friday 7th December 2018 from 20:00pm to 23:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Chesterfield Barnett Observatory - All Welcome!

Friday 14th December 2018 from 20:00pm to 23:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Chesterfield Barnett Observatory - All Welcome!

Friday 21st December 2018 from 20:00pm to 23:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Chesterfield Barnett Observatory - All Welcome!

Friday 28th December 2018 from 20:00pm to 23:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Chesterfield Barnett Observatory - All Welcome!

Friday 4th January 2019 from 20:00pm to 23:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Chesterfield Barnett Observatory - All Welcome!

Friday 11th January 2019 from 20:00pm to 23:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Chesterfield Barnett Observatory - All Welcome!

Friday 18th January 2019 from 20:00pm to 23:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Chesterfield Barnett Observatory - All Welcome!

Friday 25th January 2019 from 20:00pm to 23:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Chesterfield Barnett Observatory - All Welcome!

Friday 1st February 2019 from 20:00pm to 23:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Chesterfield Barnett Observatory - All Welcome!

Friday 8th February 2019 from 20:00pm to 23:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Chesterfield Barnett Observatory - All Welcome!

Friday 15th February 2019 from 20:00pm to 23:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Chesterfield Barnett Observatory - All Welcome!

Friday 22nd February 2019 from 20:00pm to 23:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Chesterfield Barnett Observatory - All Welcome!

Friday 1st March 2019 from 20:00pm to 23:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Chesterfield Barnett Observatory - All Welcome!

Friday 8th March 2019 from 20:00pm to 23:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Chesterfield Barnett Observatory - All Welcome!

Friday 15th March 2019 from 20:00pm to 23:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Chesterfield Barnett Observatory - All Welcome!

Friday 22nd March 2019 from 20:00pm to 23:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Chesterfield Barnett Observatory - All Welcome!

Friday 29th March 2019 from 20:00pm to 23:00pm
Observing (if clear)

Location

Loading Map....

When to visit

The best time to visit Chesterfield Barnett Observatory can be found on this dark skies calendar.

Add to favourites

To add this location to your favourites and receive optional stargazing event notifications simply login or register.

Share this location

Let your friends know about this stargazing location.

Register to receive stargazing event notifications