Bruce Observatory – Whitby School

Prospect Hill, Whitby, YO21 1LA

Location description

Observing nights held here weather permitting with events organised by Whitby & District Astronomical Society.


Location event organiser

Whitby & District Astronomical Society organises stargazing events at this location.


Observatory

Location has an observatory that is accessible to the public by prior arrangement or during public events.


Tonight's weather forecast

21/08/17
19:00
17°
55%
21/08/17
22:00
16°
85%
22/08/17
01:00
16°
51%
22/08/17
04:00
16°
13%
Weather forecast for Whitby (0.53 miles away) updated 21/08/17 at 00:01.

Light pollution

This location is estimated to have light pollution levels similar to a urban setting based on satellite data from CPRE.

Urban
Suburban
Semi-rural
Rural
Dark site
The above demonstrates the estimated effect of light pollution - graphics created using Stellarium.

Forthcoming events at this location

Public Observing at Bruce Observatory

Sunday 1st October 2017 from 19:30pm to 21:30pm
Observing Only

Public Observing at Bruce Observatory

Sunday 8th October 2017 from 19:30pm to 21:30pm
Observing Only

Public Observing at Bruce Observatory

Sunday 15th October 2017 from 19:30pm to 21:30pm
Observing Only

Public Observing at Bruce Observatory

Sunday 22nd October 2017 from 19:30pm to 21:30pm
Observing Only

Public Observing at Bruce Observatory

Sunday 29th October 2017 from 19:30pm to 21:30pm
Observing Only

Public Observing at Bruce Observatory

Sunday 5th November 2017 from 19:30pm to 21:30pm
Observing Only

Public Observing at Bruce Observatory

Sunday 12th November 2017 from 19:30pm to 21:30pm
Observing Only

Public Observing at Bruce Observatory

Sunday 19th November 2017 from 19:30pm to 21:30pm
Observing Only

Public Observing at Bruce Observatory

Sunday 26th November 2017 from 19:30pm to 21:30pm
Observing Only

Public Observing at Bruce Observatory

Sunday 3rd December 2017 from 19:30pm to 21:30pm
Observing Only

Public Observing at Bruce Observatory

Sunday 10th December 2017 from 19:30pm to 21:30pm
Observing Only

Public Observing at Bruce Observatory

Sunday 17th December 2017 from 19:30pm to 21:30pm
Observing Only

Public Observing at Bruce Observatory

Sunday 24th December 2017 from 19:30pm to 21:30pm
Observing Only

Public Observing at Bruce Observatory

Sunday 31st December 2017 from 19:30pm to 21:30pm
Observing Only

Public Observing at Bruce Observatory

Sunday 7th January 2018 from 19:30pm to 21:30pm
Observing Only

Public Observing at Bruce Observatory

Sunday 14th January 2018 from 19:30pm to 21:30pm
Observing Only

Public Observing at Bruce Observatory

Sunday 21st January 2018 from 19:30pm to 21:30pm
Observing Only

Public Observing at Bruce Observatory

Sunday 28th January 2018 from 19:30pm to 21:30pm
Observing Only

Public Observing at Bruce Observatory

Sunday 4th February 2018 from 19:30pm to 21:30pm
Observing Only

Public Observing at Bruce Observatory

Sunday 11th February 2018 from 19:30pm to 21:30pm
Observing Only

Public Observing at Bruce Observatory

Sunday 18th February 2018 from 19:30pm to 21:30pm
Observing Only

Public Observing at Bruce Observatory

Sunday 25th February 2018 from 19:30pm to 21:30pm
Observing Only

Public Observing at Bruce Observatory

Sunday 4th March 2018 from 19:30pm to 21:30pm
Observing Only

Public Observing at Bruce Observatory

Sunday 11th March 2018 from 19:30pm to 21:30pm
Observing Only

Public Observing at Bruce Observatory

Sunday 18th March 2018 from 19:30pm to 21:30pm
Observing Only

Public Observing at Bruce Observatory

Sunday 25th March 2018 from 19:30pm to 21:30pm
Observing Only

Public Observing at Bruce Observatory

Sunday 1st April 2018 from 19:30pm to 21:30pm
Observing Only

Public Observing at Bruce Observatory

Sunday 8th April 2018 from 19:30pm to 21:30pm
Observing Only

Public Observing at Bruce Observatory

Sunday 15th April 2018 from 19:30pm to 21:30pm
Observing Only

Public Observing at Bruce Observatory

Sunday 22nd April 2018 from 19:30pm to 21:30pm
Observing Only

Public Observing at Bruce Observatory

Sunday 29th April 2018 from 19:30pm to 21:30pm
Observing Only

Location

Loading Map....

When to visit

The best time to visit Bruce Observatory - Whitby School can be found on this dark skies calendar.

Add to favourites

To add this location to your favourites and receive optional stargazing event notifications simply login or register.

Share this location

Let your friends know about this stargazing location.

Register to receive stargazing event notifications