Brecon – Libanus Mountain Centre

Libanus, Brecon, Powys, LD3 8ER, Wales

Location description

National Park Visitor Centre with great facilities and a dark sky location that offers fantastic views of the night sky. Regular Stargazing events are hosted here throughout the observing season September to April.


Dark sky discovery site

Designated as a Dark Sky Discovery Site this location is accessible by members of the public and are officially recognised as excellent places to stargaze. Such locations often have free overnight car parking, some have toilet facilities however rarely allow overnight camping.


Tonight's weather forecast

21/06/18
19:00
13°
0%
21/06/18
22:00
10°
0%
22/06/18
01:00
0%
22/06/18
04:00
0%
Weather forecast for Mynydd Illtyd (0.69 miles away) updated 21/06/18 at 12:01.

Location light pollution

This location is estimated to have light pollution levels similar to a rural setting based on satellite data from CPRE.

Urban
Suburban
Semi-rural
Rural
Dark site
The above demonstrates the estimated effect of light pollution - graphics created using Stellarium.

When to stargaze at Brecon - Libanus Mountain Centre

This location's rural setting means it benefits from dark skies depending on the time of the year and lunar cycle. In the calendar below where you can see stars indicates when the skies will be dark and the best time to stargaze. Yellow areas show the adverse effects of daylight (bold) and moonlight (faded). Hover over a day to see darkness times or click on a date for more information.

Forthcoming events at this location

Solar Scopes at the National Park Visitor Centre

Saturday 23rd June 2018 from 10:00am to 16:00pm
Solar Observing

Perseid Meteor Shower 2018 in Brecon

Wednesday 11th July 2018 from 22:00pm to Thursday 12th July 2018 02:00am
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Stargazing and Astrophotography in Brecon

Saturday 14th July 2018 from 21:00pm to Sunday 15th July 2018 01:00am
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Stargazing and Astrophotography in Brecon

Saturday 21st July 2018 from 21:00pm to Sunday 22nd July 2018 01:00am
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Perseid Meteor Shower 2018 - Brecon

Friday 10th August 2018 from 19:00pm to 22:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Stargazing and Astrophotography in Brecon

Saturday 18th August 2018 from 22:00pm to Sunday 19th August 2018 02:00am
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Stargazing and Astrophotography in Brecon

Saturday 1st September 2018 from 22:00pm to Sunday 2nd September 2018 02:00am
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Stargazing and Astrophotography in Brecon

Saturday 15th September 2018 from 21:00pm to Sunday 16th September 2018 01:00am
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Stargazing and Astrophotography in Brecon

Saturday 29th September 2018 from 21:00pm to Sunday 30th September 2018 01:00am
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Stargazing and Astrophotography in Brecon

Saturday 6th October 2018 from 21:00pm to Sunday 7th October 2018 01:00am
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Stargazing and Astrophotography in Brecon

Saturday 13th October 2018 from 20:00pm to Sunday 14th October 2018 00:00am
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Stargazing and Astrophotography in Brecon

Saturday 3rd November 2018 from 19:00pm to 22:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Stargazing and Astrophotography in Brecon

Saturday 1st December 2018 from 19:00pm to 22:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Stargazing and Astrophotography in Brecon

Saturday 8th December 2018 from 19:00pm to 22:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Stargazing and Astrophotography in Brecon

Saturday 15th December 2018 from 19:00pm to 22:00pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Location

Loading Map....

When to visit

The best time to visit Brecon - Libanus Mountain Centre can be found on this dark skies calendar.

Add to favourites

To add this location to your favourites and receive optional stargazing event notifications simply login or register.

Share this location

Let your friends know about this stargazing location.

Register to receive stargazing event notifications