Battlesteads Observatory

The Battlesteads Hotel, Wark, Northumberland, NE48 3LS

battlesteads

Location description

Located at a Dark Sky Discovery Site in Wark on the premises of the Battlesteads Hotel the observatory benefits from excellent dark skies for its village location. The observatory runs a variety of events most evenings each week and often ties in deals with the hotel and restaurant.

For the best stargazing experience book on an event around a new moon period when the skies are at their darkest -- use the dark sky calendar to see when is best.


Dark sky discovery site

Designated dark sky location accessible by members of the public these sites often have free overnight car parking, sometimes have toilet facilities however never allow overnight camping.


Observatory

Location has an observatory that is accessible to the public by prior arrangement or during public events.


Tonight's weather forecast

29/03/17
19:00
12°
84%
29/03/17
22:00
12°
23%
30/03/17
01:00
12°
45%
30/03/17
04:00
11°
20%
Weather forecast for Wark (0.14 miles away) updated 29/03/17 at 12:00.

Light pollution

This location is estimated to have light pollution levels similar to a rural setting based on satellite data from CPRE.

Urban
Suburban
Semi-rural
Rural
Dark site
The above demonstrates the estimated effect of light pollution - graphics created using Stellarium.

When to stargaze at Battlesteads Observatory

This location's rural setting means it benefits from dark skies depending on the time of the year and lunar cycle. In the calendar below where you can see stars indicates when the skies will be dark and the best time to stargaze. Yellow areas show the adverse effects of daylight (bold) and moonlight (faded). Hover over a day to see darkness times or click on a date for more information.

Forthcoming events at this location

Battlesteads Observatory Open Night

Monday 3rd April 2017 from 20:30pm to 22:30pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Battlesteads Observatory Open Night

Wednesday 5th April 2017 from 20:30pm to 22:30pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Battlesteads Observatory Open Night

Friday 7th April 2017 from 20:30pm to 22:30pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Battlesteads Observatory Open Night

Monday 10th April 2017 from 20:30pm to 22:30pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Battlesteads Observatory Open Night

Wednesday 12th April 2017 from 20:30pm to 22:30pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Battlesteads Observatory Open Night

Friday 14th April 2017 from 20:30pm to 22:30pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Battlesteads Observatory Open Night

Monday 17th April 2017 from 20:30pm to 22:30pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Battlesteads Observatory Open Night

Wednesday 19th April 2017 from 20:30pm to 22:30pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Battlesteads Observatory Open Night

Friday 21st April 2017 from 20:30pm to 22:30pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Battlesteads Observatory Open Night

Monday 24th April 2017 from 20:30pm to 22:30pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Battlesteads Observatory Open Night

Wednesday 26th April 2017 from 20:30pm to 22:30pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Battlesteads Observatory Open Night

Friday 28th April 2017 from 20:30pm to 22:30pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Battlesteads Observatory Open Night

Monday 1st May 2017 from 20:30pm to 22:30pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Battlesteads Observatory Open Night

Wednesday 3rd May 2017 from 20:30pm to 22:30pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Battlesteads Observatory Open Night

Friday 5th May 2017 from 20:30pm to 22:30pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Battlesteads Observatory Open Night

Monday 8th May 2017 from 20:30pm to 22:30pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Battlesteads Observatory Open Night

Wednesday 10th May 2017 from 20:30pm to 22:30pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Battlesteads Observatory Open Night

Friday 12th May 2017 from 20:30pm to 22:30pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Battlesteads Observatory Open Night

Monday 15th May 2017 from 20:30pm to 22:30pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Battlesteads Observatory Open Night

Wednesday 17th May 2017 from 20:30pm to 22:30pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Battlesteads Observatory Open Night

Friday 19th May 2017 from 20:30pm to 22:30pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Battlesteads Observatory Open Night

Monday 22nd May 2017 from 20:30pm to 22:30pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Battlesteads Observatory Open Night

Wednesday 24th May 2017 from 20:30pm to 22:30pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Battlesteads Observatory Open Night

Friday 26th May 2017 from 20:30pm to 22:30pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Battlesteads Observatory Open Night

Monday 29th May 2017 from 20:30pm to 22:30pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Battlesteads Observatory Open Night

Wednesday 31st May 2017 from 20:30pm to 22:30pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Battlesteads Observatory Open Night

Friday 2nd June 2017 from 20:30pm to 22:30pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Battlesteads Observatory Open Night

Monday 5th June 2017 from 20:30pm to 22:30pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Battlesteads Observatory Open Night

Wednesday 7th June 2017 from 20:30pm to 22:30pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Battlesteads Observatory Open Night

Friday 9th June 2017 from 20:30pm to 22:30pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Battlesteads Observatory Open Night

Monday 12th June 2017 from 20:30pm to 22:30pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Battlesteads Observatory Open Night

Wednesday 14th June 2017 from 20:30pm to 22:30pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Battlesteads Observatory Open Night

Friday 16th June 2017 from 20:30pm to 22:30pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Battlesteads Observatory Open Night

Monday 19th June 2017 from 20:30pm to 22:30pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Battlesteads Observatory Open Night

Wednesday 21st June 2017 from 20:30pm to 22:30pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Battlesteads Observatory Open Night

Friday 23rd June 2017 from 20:30pm to 22:30pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Battlesteads Observatory Open Night

Monday 26th June 2017 from 20:30pm to 22:30pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Battlesteads Observatory Open Night

Wednesday 28th June 2017 from 20:30pm to 22:30pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Battlesteads Observatory Open Night

Friday 30th June 2017 from 20:30pm to 22:30pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Battlesteads Observatory Open Night

Monday 3rd July 2017 from 20:30pm to 22:30pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Battlesteads Observatory Open Night

Wednesday 5th July 2017 from 20:30pm to 22:30pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Battlesteads Observatory Open Night

Friday 7th July 2017 from 20:30pm to 22:30pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Battlesteads Observatory Open Night

Monday 10th July 2017 from 20:30pm to 22:30pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Battlesteads Observatory Open Night

Wednesday 12th July 2017 from 20:30pm to 22:30pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Battlesteads Observatory Open Night

Friday 14th July 2017 from 20:30pm to 22:30pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Battlesteads Observatory Open Night

Monday 17th July 2017 from 20:30pm to 22:30pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Battlesteads Observatory Open Night

Wednesday 19th July 2017 from 20:30pm to 22:30pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Battlesteads Observatory Open Night

Friday 21st July 2017 from 20:30pm to 22:30pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Battlesteads Observatory Open Night

Monday 24th July 2017 from 20:30pm to 22:30pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Battlesteads Observatory Open Night

Wednesday 26th July 2017 from 20:30pm to 22:30pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Battlesteads Observatory Open Night

Friday 28th July 2017 from 20:30pm to 22:30pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Battlesteads Observatory Open Night

Monday 31st July 2017 from 20:30pm to 22:30pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Battlesteads Observatory Open Night

Wednesday 2nd August 2017 from 20:30pm to 22:30pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Battlesteads Observatory Open Night

Friday 4th August 2017 from 20:30pm to 22:30pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Battlesteads Observatory Open Night

Monday 7th August 2017 from 20:30pm to 22:30pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Battlesteads Observatory Open Night

Wednesday 9th August 2017 from 20:30pm to 22:30pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Battlesteads Observatory Open Night

Friday 11th August 2017 from 20:30pm to 22:30pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Battlesteads Observatory Open Night

Monday 14th August 2017 from 20:30pm to 22:30pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Battlesteads Observatory Open Night

Wednesday 16th August 2017 from 20:30pm to 22:30pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Battlesteads Observatory Open Night

Friday 18th August 2017 from 20:30pm to 22:30pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Battlesteads Observatory Open Night

Monday 21st August 2017 from 20:30pm to 22:30pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Battlesteads Observatory Open Night

Wednesday 23rd August 2017 from 20:30pm to 22:30pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Battlesteads Observatory Open Night

Friday 25th August 2017 from 20:30pm to 22:30pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Battlesteads Observatory Open Night

Monday 28th August 2017 from 20:30pm to 22:30pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Battlesteads Observatory Open Night

Wednesday 30th August 2017 from 20:30pm to 22:30pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Battlesteads Observatory Open Night

Friday 1st September 2017 from 20:30pm to 22:30pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Battlesteads Observatory Open Night

Monday 4th September 2017 from 20:30pm to 22:30pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Battlesteads Observatory Open Night

Wednesday 6th September 2017 from 20:30pm to 22:30pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Battlesteads Observatory Open Night

Friday 8th September 2017 from 20:30pm to 22:30pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Battlesteads Observatory Open Night

Monday 11th September 2017 from 20:30pm to 22:30pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Battlesteads Observatory Open Night

Wednesday 13th September 2017 from 20:30pm to 22:30pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Battlesteads Observatory Open Night

Friday 15th September 2017 from 20:30pm to 22:30pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Battlesteads Observatory Open Night

Monday 18th September 2017 from 20:30pm to 22:30pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Battlesteads Observatory Open Night

Wednesday 20th September 2017 from 20:30pm to 22:30pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Battlesteads Observatory Open Night

Friday 22nd September 2017 from 20:30pm to 22:30pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Battlesteads Observatory Open Night

Monday 25th September 2017 from 20:30pm to 22:30pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Battlesteads Observatory Open Night

Wednesday 27th September 2017 from 20:30pm to 22:30pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Battlesteads Observatory Open Night

Friday 29th September 2017 from 20:30pm to 22:30pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Battlesteads Observatory Open Night

Monday 2nd October 2017 from 20:30pm to 22:30pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Battlesteads Observatory Open Night

Wednesday 4th October 2017 from 20:30pm to 22:30pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Battlesteads Observatory Open Night

Friday 6th October 2017 from 20:30pm to 22:30pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Battlesteads Observatory Open Night

Monday 9th October 2017 from 20:30pm to 22:30pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Battlesteads Observatory Open Night

Wednesday 11th October 2017 from 20:30pm to 22:30pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Battlesteads Observatory Open Night

Friday 13th October 2017 from 20:30pm to 22:30pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Battlesteads Observatory Open Night

Monday 16th October 2017 from 20:30pm to 22:30pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Battlesteads Observatory Open Night

Wednesday 18th October 2017 from 20:30pm to 22:30pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Battlesteads Observatory Open Night

Friday 20th October 2017 from 20:30pm to 22:30pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Battlesteads Observatory Open Night

Monday 23rd October 2017 from 20:30pm to 22:30pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Battlesteads Observatory Open Night

Wednesday 25th October 2017 from 20:30pm to 22:30pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Battlesteads Observatory Open Night

Friday 27th October 2017 from 20:30pm to 22:30pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Battlesteads Observatory Open Night

Monday 30th October 2017 from 20:30pm to 22:30pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Battlesteads Observatory Open Night

Wednesday 1st November 2017 from 20:30pm to 22:30pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Battlesteads Observatory Open Night

Friday 3rd November 2017 from 20:30pm to 22:30pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Battlesteads Observatory Open Night

Monday 6th November 2017 from 20:30pm to 22:30pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Battlesteads Observatory Open Night

Wednesday 8th November 2017 from 20:30pm to 22:30pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Battlesteads Observatory Open Night

Friday 10th November 2017 from 20:30pm to 22:30pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Battlesteads Observatory Open Night

Monday 13th November 2017 from 20:30pm to 22:30pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Battlesteads Observatory Open Night

Wednesday 15th November 2017 from 20:30pm to 22:30pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Battlesteads Observatory Open Night

Friday 17th November 2017 from 20:30pm to 22:30pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Battlesteads Observatory Open Night

Monday 20th November 2017 from 20:30pm to 22:30pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Battlesteads Observatory Open Night

Wednesday 22nd November 2017 from 20:30pm to 22:30pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Battlesteads Observatory Open Night

Friday 24th November 2017 from 20:30pm to 22:30pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Battlesteads Observatory Open Night

Monday 27th November 2017 from 20:30pm to 22:30pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Battlesteads Observatory Open Night

Wednesday 29th November 2017 from 20:30pm to 22:30pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Battlesteads Observatory Open Night

Friday 1st December 2017 from 20:30pm to 22:30pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Battlesteads Observatory Open Night

Monday 4th December 2017 from 20:30pm to 22:30pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Battlesteads Observatory Open Night

Wednesday 6th December 2017 from 20:30pm to 22:30pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Battlesteads Observatory Open Night

Friday 8th December 2017 from 20:30pm to 22:30pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Battlesteads Observatory Open Night

Monday 11th December 2017 from 20:30pm to 22:30pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Battlesteads Observatory Open Night

Wednesday 13th December 2017 from 20:30pm to 22:30pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Battlesteads Observatory Open Night

Friday 15th December 2017 from 20:30pm to 22:30pm
Astronomy Presentation, Observing (if clear)

Location

Loading Map....

When to visit

The best time to visit Battlesteads Observatory can be found on this dark skies calendar.

Add to favourites

To add this location to your favourites and receive optional stargazing event notifications simply login or register.

Share this location

Let your friends know about this stargazing location.

Register to receive stargazing event notifications